Cover image for Ciena
Logo

Ciena

Engaged Employer

Ciena

Add a Review

Ciena Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,573 of over 2K reviews
4.4
90% Recommend to a Friend
Ciena President, CEO, and Director Gary B. Smith
97% Approve of CEO

Found 1,531 of over 2K reviews

4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Ciena President, CEO, and Director Gary B. Smith
Gary B. Smith
981 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "good work life balance in d company(in 194 reviews)
  • "Great people then and now.(in 121 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and pension contribution.(in 101 reviews)
  • "good culture, a lot of support(in 56 reviews)
  • "Good salaries (I was here on placement and amazed at my salary).(in 52 reviews)
Cons
  • "Very poor management for product development(in 44 reviews)
  • "Many of the managers have not been trained and do poor to fair jobs managing effectively(in 25 reviews)
  • "Layoffs due to offshore development.(in 19 reviews)
  • "Compensation is average for the area(in 18 reviews)
  • "Recent merger with Cyan(now Blueplanet)expose you to cutting edge technologies but there is no training plan for employees, you are on your own.(in 14 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Ciena and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Outstanding Culture and Diversity

    Oct 25, 2022 - Solutions Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The ethical culture imparted through the leadership team is refreshing. The long term vision of winning through fair practices versus at all cost is refreshing. The embrace of diversity is welcome and is one of the things that makes Ciena a great company for the employees.

    Cons

    For a mid-size enterprise it's a bit of a challenge to figure out who's who and who owns what. This is mitigated to an extent by team members assistance in navigating a complex organizational structure.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome

    Nov 21, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sleep at work, lowest salary , no motivation

    Cons

    Everyone is doing the same. Waiting for layoff.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Ciena team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Opportunity

    Oct 10, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very good company to work.

    Cons

    nothing such as cons in Ciena

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great place to work

    Sep 30, 2022 - QA Test Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    none at all, Awesome place

    Cons

    great place, work life balance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Used to ne a great company

    Oct 12, 2022 - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Products, Services and Middle Managers

    Cons

    Structure to much like a military institution.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great place to work, and a great, supportive culture

    Sep 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work-life balance Great social impact program Hardworking and honest leadership team Always looking to do the right thing by customers Supportive culture for employees of all backgrounds

    Cons

    Need to push our innovation even further to succeed in the next 20 years.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    ServiceNow... more like ServiceNever

    Sep 29, 2022 - Software Engineer in Petaluma, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I suppose job security would be a pro.

    Cons

    The ServiceNow platform was a joke. Maybe it had to do with the size of the company, but any kind of technical support request always took FOREVER to get resolved. Maybe I was just spoiled by working at startups in the past, but it was a real drain on productivity.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good company to work for

    Sep 26, 2022 - Principal Software Engineer in Hanover, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent team and interesting work

    Cons

    I do not recall cons that need mentioning

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Benefits

    Aug 24, 2022 - Marketing Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay up to 10k a year for school Unlimited PTO Wellness reimbursement Great health and 401k benefits

    Cons

    Hard to get a good raise

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ciena Response

    Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's great to read what you have to say. We always strive to do better and are on our way to making our competitive rewards package and management training even better. If you want to continue this conversation and help us find even more ways to do better on our pay reviews, please send an email to cienafeedback@ciena.com.

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Ciena culture is the best!

    Aug 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company culture is amazing, company values at the heart of what we do

    Cons

    Challenge on career growth or defining a career path.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Ciena Response

    Recruitment Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for this positive feedback. It's great to read what you have to say. We always strive to do better and are on our way to making our learning and development programs even better. If you'd like to share more, please contact us at cienafeedback@ciena.com.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,531 Reviews
</>Embed

Ciena Reviews FAQs

Ciena has an overall rating of 4.4 out of 5, based on over 1,758 reviews left anonymously by employees. 90% of employees would recommend working at Ciena to a friend and 88% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Ciena employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Ciena. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

90% of Ciena employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Ciena 4.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.5 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Ciena to be culture, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be management, career development.

Popular Careers with Ciena Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Ciena? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Ciena Photos

+ Add Photo
Ciena photo of: Testimonials from our students!
Ciena photo of: We celebrated International Women's Day
Ciena photo of: Congrats to our optical team, who took home an award last week at #MEF19 for our next-gen WaveLogic 5 coherent optical technology that's capable of pushing 800G of capacity over a single wavelength.
Ciena photo of: Ciena Proud!
Ciena photo of: Voluntary Blood Donors from Gurgaon, India Team on Nov 19, 2019 #110unitsofblood
Ciena photo of: Voluntary Blood Donors from Gurgaon, India Team on Nov 19, 2019 #110unitsofblood
Ciena photo of: Voluntary Blood Donors from Gurgaon, India Team on Nov 19, 2019 #110unitsofblood
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Packet Design, Inc.Blue PlanetDonRiver Inc.
Centina Systems

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Ciena Job Seekers Also Viewed

Infinera Logo
Infinera

3.6

787 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,758 Ciena reviews submitted anonymously by Ciena employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Ciena is right for you.