KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Ciena

Is this your company?

Ciena

Add a Review

Ciena Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 of over 1,449 reviews

4.3
91%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Ciena President, CEO, and Director Gary B. Smith
Gary B. Smith
880 Ratings
Pros
  • "Management provide good work/life balance(in 226 reviews)

  • "Amazing cafeteria and work environment as well as friendly people(in 102 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance can be scarce(in 42 reviews)

  • "Little to nonexistent career development(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Ciena

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ciena and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good company to work for

      Oct 20, 2021 - Senor Software Tester in Spokane, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Enjoy collaborative working environment, people are all very supportive

      Cons

      lots of projects have been moved to India

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Mar 31, 2021 - Executive Assistant in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      International Company, flexible work environment, great benefits, stability, opportunities

      Cons

      there are no cons for me.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place to Work

      Feb 10, 2021 - Senior Manager in Spokane, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great work environment, with really good benefits. support from your teams and managers is always there. everyone is aligned and works well together.

      Cons

      Long hours, but in the end worth all the hard work, would still recommend this to others

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Ciena

      Apr 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great technology, people and working environment

      Cons

      Some egos to contend with in cross functional interactions but no worse/different than anywhere else.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great culture

      Feb 10, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company really has great culture and work environment. Developers are isolated from management politics

      Cons

      Better management will serve the company much better.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Intern

      Intern Review

      Feb 26, 2020 - Intern in Hanover, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Provide a really good work environment

      Cons

      I can't think of any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company but sending a lot of work overseas

      Aug 18, 2019 - Specialist in Hanover, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, benefits, good working environment and opportunity for advancement.

      Cons

      The company is sending a lot of jobs to Mexico or India, so they are letting a lot of employees with 15-20 years of service go to increase their bottom line.

      7 people found this review helpful

      Ciena Response

      Ciena

      Thank you for your feedback! We want to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our employees. So, we hope you will give us an opportunity to discuss this further with you. You can reach out to us on Cienafeedback@ciena.com.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Senior Software Engineer

      Sep 22, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work environment, Progressive, Good People

      Cons

      Need to be more competitive in work and salaries

      2 people found this review helpful

      Ciena Response

      Ciena

      Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience working at Ciena. We strive to create a great place to work and value feedback so that we can become an even better company.” Feel free to drop us a note at Cienafeedback@ciena.com.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Marketing

      Apr 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ciena hires the best and trusts us to do our jobs, and supports us in every way possible. Our flexible work environment, incredible family leave policies, the ability to volunteer- all of these things speak volumes to who we are while never sacrificing our drive to achieve the best possible results in the industry for our company, for our customers and for each other. The people are incredible at Ciena- best group of people I have ever had the pleasure of working with across all levels of the organization. And Ciena has a company band!

      Cons

      Stock grants are not for all levels of the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Best Company I've worked for

      May 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ciena has a great corporate culture based on four key core values. These values promote customer focus, integrity, innovation, and agility and create a working environment where people across different functional groups truly and effectively work together as teams for the best outcomes. The senior leadership is hands-on and has a deep knowledge of customers, market, and technology. They regularly take the time to clearly articulate the opportunities, challenges, and our strategy. Ciena offers a very flexible work environment where micro-management is totally non-existent.

      Cons

      Cannot think of any cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 102 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ciena Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ciena? Share Your Experiences

    or