KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Cigna

Is this your company?

Cigna

Add a Review

Cigna Employee Reviews about "health insurance"

Updated Jan 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 of over 3,875 reviews

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Cigna President and CEO David Cordani
David Cordani
1,800 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexibility to work from home during pandemic(in 359 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance, benefits are good(in 266 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor work/life balance part of culture(in 84 reviews)

  • "health insurance benefits were not the best(in 77 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Cigna

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cigna and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "health insurance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Work Environment

      Aug 9, 2020 - Disability Claims Manager in Eden Prairie, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management takes notice of the hard working employees. Great work life balance , work at home option.

      Cons

      health insurance benefits were not the best.

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Enjoyable Experience

      Jan 6, 2021 - Tax Accounting Lead Analyst in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Depending on the manager: flexible work schedule and room to work with very minimal supervision or micro management. Negotiable salary.

      Cons

      The health insurance plans are extremely high deductible plans for minimal coverage. Most internal job postings already have a candidate or two in mind resulting in many declination emails.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Salaries Lacking, Decent Work-Life Balance

      Jan 11, 2021 - Senior Manager in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Fairly decent work-life balance - Good facilities (plenty of parking) - Excellent co-workers!

      Cons

      Non-competitive salaries. With 5+ years of experience you have so many places to work in the area. Plenty competitors offering higher salaries for less responsibility. We've lost several top performers on our team due to this, when we wanted to counter to keep them around we were capped far too low. Once we were able to match but the now former employee wanted to leave because "it was like pulling teeth" to get a proper pay increase with Cigna. Certain benefits that helped give Cigna a slight way to stand out, like education reimbursement for example, have been reduced massively. Other problems is the health insurance itself, it's very expensive. You'd think working for the company we'd be given a discount, you'd be very wrong. *Hot button issue* but worth stating that regarding "Diversity & Inclusion". Oh... they're very "accepting", just don't you dare have a different opinion about anything they deem holy. I'm not remotely a conservative or "on the right" even a little but even I know there is an openly hostile environment towards them. You can chant left-wing slogans, most of which I fully support (out of work), but you'll be immediately in trouble if you even mention you agree with a mainstream Republican viewpoint. It's highly toxic and very troubling, again this coming from a liberal... I cannot imagine how truly miserable it must be for conservatives to work for Cigna. We've alienated tons of awesome people due to the overt left-wing pandering.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Probably not where you want to work if you have an MBA

      Oct 20, 2020 - FDP Associate in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Work-life balance -FDP over pays its members for the roles they have available -Low expectations -> probably only have to be productive 60% of the day to go above and beyond expectations -Job security -> nearly a recession proof industry

      Cons

      -FDP program is mediocre. They assign you to roles beneath your performance ability level. You will become bored... fast. -Expensive and poor employee health care “benefits”, which is ironic given Cigna’s a health insurance company -stock based comp is unfortunate given the underperformance of Cordani and leadership relative to peers the past 5 years -Executive leadership is hypocritical -> they will cut your raise as they prepare for bumpy fiscal years, but will give themselves hefty raises. They’ll through in something to “make up for it” as their way of saying they value their employees

      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sort and distribute mails

      Jan 21, 2021 - Mailroom Clerk in Piscataway, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some very nice and understanding managers

      Cons

      Health insurance is not good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      AWFUL!!!!!

      Jun 23, 2020 - Customer Service in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO, 401k, health benefits. Listen to me closely...that is IT.

      Cons

      NO work/life balance. Work on holidays (Christmas included). 2 minutes for bathroom breaks during the day, that’s it, 2 minutes for the entire shift. Supervisors don’t care about you, only their team numbers. The supervisors will also micromanage you at every point of your day. When you are being trained, they make it sound like you’ll move up the ladder quickly. Believe me, you won’t. I saw reps that were there 3+ years with no movement in sight. Not to mention their health insurance is awful, so be ready to answer the phone to crying men/women because we won’t pay their $100,000 chemo bills. This job is absolutely soul sucking and drained my mental health while I was there. The absolute worst job I’ve ever had in my life.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good place to work

      Aug 21, 2020 - Claims Representative in Bourbonnais, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generous pto. Flexible schedule. Good training.

      Cons

      Health insurance is very expensive.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to work. Terrible health insurance if you are sick

      Jul 7, 2020 - Behavioral Health Advocate in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home is offered from day 1 for some.

      Cons

      Salary Is decent but could be much higher Health insurance Favoritisms

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It was okay.

      Feb 12, 2020 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      office atmosphere , benefits , cafeteria .

      Cons

      After doing 2 months of training for medicare PPO plan we kept getting pulled in to do more trainings to do more jobs . only to get paid the exact same and do more work. when I worked at other health insurance companies you would get paid more to do pharmacy (its own animal) , enrollments (commission) , claims & to teach other plans NOT HERE.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Culture is shifting

      May 9, 2019 - IT Project Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall benefits package is good. Work from home options and flexible schedules. Strong CEO with growth vision and enthusiasm.

      Cons

      Health insurance packages are expensive for employees. Very limited in options. Merger has created a culture shift and impacting employee morale. Expect reductions in workforce to continue while merger actions and efficiencies are underway.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cigna Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Cigna? Share Your Experiences

    or