Cimarex Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Cimarex Energy Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Cimarex Energy CEO Thomas E. Jorden
Thomas E. Jorden
21 Ratings
  1. "IT Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cimarex Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great culture of fairness and accountability. Management is top notch. Great company.

    Cons

    None, again a great company.

    Advice to Management

    Management knows the business and leans towards measured growth and stability in all market conditions.

    Cimarex Energy2018-03-03
  2. "Everyone Needs A Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cimarex Energy

    Pros

    When it’s good, it’s so great!

    Cons

    The lows are low. I was asked to take part in a crime and was ridiculed for not participating. This company is all about who you know and your relationship with them. There’s only advancement if you’re willing to do anything and risk it all.

    Advice to Management

    Be ethical and stop breaking the law.

    Cimarex Energy2019-09-07
  3. "Good place to grow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cimarex Energy full-time

    Pros

    Excellent communication and fast paced environment.

    Cons

    It ain’t what you know.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Cimarex Energy2018-10-09
  4. "Such a fantastic group of people and assets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cimarex Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a wonderful and professional work environment. People generally treat each other with so much respect. It's a great company staffed with the brightest and best people in the field. The company's assets are extremely good too. It's a very flat organization which gives people lots of opportunity to contribute

    Cons

    There are some difficulties when it comes to one's career arc. It can be more like a job than a career.

    Advice to Management

    This is a tough one. They do such a good job. Just keep in mind the issues with career advancement (or lack thereof). Not sure what they could do while maintaining the flat organization.

    Cimarex Energy2018-04-14
  5. "Opportunity to thrive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cimarex Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Refreshments, individual offices, excellent benefits, disciplined company in a volatile industry

    Cons

    Not many, great place to work

    Advice to Management

    Management does a great job of listening to employee input, keep it up

    Cimarex Energy2018-02-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Very Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cimarex Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits. Offices. Parking.

    Cons

    Very poor management on all levels. Management has no clue the work load that each person has. Must be willing to "play the game" to advance at all or be "one of the guys". Everyone not in a management position is referred to a "worker bee" and is not valued. The environment is extremely toxic and in turn, morale is very low. Too many people are sitting around doing nothing and getting paid way too much to do... so.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees. Take the time to learn what each person actually does before you jump to a conclusion on who should be promoted. Have actual annual reviews instead of a "formula" for raises. Managers and supervisors should also be reviewed on a regular basis. Management should have to participate in some sort of training on the proper way to treat people as well as the right and wrong things to say to... people. Don't ever devalue someone because they have children or because they are a certain age. When people feel appreciated, they are more likely to work more efficiently and actually care about the job they are doing. Treat people like actual people and respect the fact that they actually have lives and families outside of the office.

    Show More
    Cimarex Energy2017-07-27
  7. "Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cimarex Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great organization! It is a small organization with all the benefits of a very large company. You have a lot of flexibility to get your work done without micro management.

    Cons

    No Cons at this point.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop leadership especially if you are promoting field employees into manager roles.

    Cimarex Energy2017-07-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tulsa, OK

    I have been working at Cimarex Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I enjoy my work. My department is not micromanaged. Great benefits, medical, dental, vision, 401(k), vacation, and floating holidays. Charitable contributions are matched.

    Cons

    My department is so divided. My manager is so knowledgeable, but is not management material; doesn't try to make the group cohesive or monitor what people are doing/not doing. Don't feel as if there is enough local involvement in the community. My dept does not receive bonuses, but we do receive profit sharing if possible.

    Cimarex Energy2017-06-22
  9. "Full-Time Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cimarex Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health Benefits start on the 1st of the next month.

    Cons

    The company culture, and lack of diversity.

    Cimarex Energy2017-06-11
  10. "Data Science Consultant - Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Junior Data Scientist in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cimarex Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of responsibility within your domain - Mngt strong

    Cons

    a little naive towards finance

    Cimarex Energy2017-02-19
Found 34 reviews