Cimmaron Field Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Cimmaron Field Services Reviews

Updated Feb 23, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
100%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "The Cimmaron Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Cimmaron Field Services

    Pros

    Cimmaron offers a professional environment in their main office in Midland. It is a great place to enhance your career as an independent landman. They also have in depth resources at your disposal to help get the job done.

    Cons

    Cimmaron does not offer much training so make sure you have good all around experience in the field. While they do offer room in the main office they do not offer personal computers or software for working in the field.

    Continue reading
    Cimmaron Field Services2016-02-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Cimmaron Field Services

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Management is smart, helpful and friendly. They are considerate and effective. Would definitely recommend.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind here.

    Cimmaron Field Services2015-12-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overall Good Company w/ Respected Name"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Contractor in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cimmaron Field Services

    Pros

    (1) Established Brokerage, (2) Paychecks on time, (3) Thorough Interview Processes, (4) Conservative Business Model (ultimately prevents over staffing, but also inhibits new opportunities), (5) Professional Work Environment (encourages landmen to work in office unlike many other brokers I've experienced), (6) Great Finished Product Reports due to intuitive software (FileMakerPro), (7) Excellent Technical Support for all computer related matters, (8) Top Notch Director with Charisma and Solid Leadership skills and (9) Thorough Knowledge and at Management Level*

    Cons

    (1) Start-up Costs (associated with new hires), (2) Tendency to Cross Contractor/Employer line via overly directing landmen at management level, (3) Nepotism & Favoritism, (4) Low Day Rate(s), (5) Project Management Related Counter-productivity (stemming from "nit-picking" at the quality control level (i.e. proper comma placement, two spaces after period), inability to create the necessary work related rapport with landmen and inability to foresee field related obstacles) and (6) Inability to disseminate general information (i.e. how to handle certain title issues) to all landmen at management level inhibits efficiency

    Continue reading
    Cimmaron Field Services2016-01-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Petroleum Landman in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cimmaron Field Services

    Pros

    This is definitely the best brokerage firm I have worked for. Lots of emphasis on quality and the management truly cares about us as much as the clients.

    Cons

    Being told you can't bill on certain days when the courthouse is closed is a bummer. There also seem to be a lot of formalities that could be cut back with assignments and billing.

    Continue reading
    Cimmaron Field Services2015-12-16
  5. "All Around Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Landman in Midland, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cimmaron Field Services

    Pros

    By far one of the best brokers I have ever worked for. Cimmaron offers a very structured environment that is great for every Landman that provides a great opportunity to broaden your knowledge as a Landman. Work has always been consistent and you always know that you'll be receiving your paycheck on time. Working at Cimmaron has been a great experience and I would highly recommend them to anyone seeking employment or needing Cimmaron's services.

    Cons

    There are not too many cons working at Cimmaron. However, I believe that there could be a lot of saved time when submitting ownership reports where you could sometimes spend a large chunk of time correcting minor grammatical errors. Grammar is a key necessity when submitting quality ownership reports, however, I believe the quality of the ownership research and ownership interests should take priority when submitting ownership reports instead of spending more time inserting commas and spaces. While the pay is always prompt and on time, I believe that good experience and quality work should be rewarded with a more reasonable day rate. Besides all of that, Cimmaron has a very structured management crew that allows the landmen to create grade "A" quality reports and exceptional work.

    Continue reading
    Cimmaron Field Services2015-12-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Very Professional and Reliable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Petroleum Landman in Utica, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cimmaron Field Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cimmaron has an environment that all brokers would like to achieve. They are extremely professional and reliable. You can always rely on your paycheck, which unfortunately can be an issue industry. The management treats you with respect and ensures you on on the right tract on all steps of the way.

    Cons

    Some would say there is too much structure and complain they feel like an employee. I honestly have never had the feeling, but know some people who would rather go by the beat of their own drum. Cimmaron expects you to work 9-5, to bill a full days work. I know some people do not like that. Also, can be pricy to start, as Cimmaron require each landman to purchase software to get started.

    Continue reading
    Cimmaron Field Services2015-12-15
  7. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Landman in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cimmaron Field Services

    Pros

    Cimmaron is a great place to work! The workplace is team oriented, organized and a great learning environment. The company aims to keep their landmen busy, the employees are reliable, and contractors are always paid on time. Cimmaron strives to deliver high quality work to their clients and they are able to do so by having amazing project managers that work closely with their landmen every step of the way.

    Cons

    Lack of communication about state of current projects, would be helpful to bring back weekly team meetings.

    Cimmaron Field Services2015-12-21
  8. "Great Broker to Work For."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Independent Landman in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cimmaron Field Services for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Billed time is always paid on time and in full. Management keeps deserving contractors busy with good work projects from good clients.

    Cons

    I think it would be beneficial to have bi-weekly meetings to get everyone together and on the same page.

    Continue reading
    Cimmaron Field Services2015-12-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cimmaron Field Services full-time

    Pros

    Cimmaron without fail always pays on time, even if they have not yet been paid by the client.. This is an issue in the industry as a lot of brokerage companies do not pay their contractors until they are paid by the client... The management truly cares about the quality of work that is put out, and it shows by the continued business they receive from the clients. Cimmaron has always had a steady inventory of work, mainly because they have multiple clients as opposed to other brokerage companies who only have one or two clients.

    Cons

    Although Cimmaron always pays promptly, the entry level day rates are a bit low, not the lowest in the industry, but not the highest either. Although you are an independent contractor, some of the management will treat you as if you are an employee.

    Continue reading
    Cimmaron Field Services2015-12-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Independent Abstractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Independent Abstractor in Midland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cimmaron Field Services

    Pros

    Everyone at Cimmaron is very professional and the company appears to be a very well-oiled machine. Their processes for handling day-to-day tasks, such as building reports, turning in assignments, submitting billing invoices, etc., are all well thought out and save a lot of time for the landmen. The Project Managers are all easy to get a hold of and they communicate very well with all of their contractors. Not to mention that they are all very knowledgeable about the industry and they freely pass that knowledge on to others. I have grown as a landman at this company and truly feel that I've got a better knowledge, understanding, and grasp of the industry because of Cimmaron.

    Cons

    You know, I honestly cannot think of any "cons" specific to this company. There are some specific cons about the nature of the independent landman profession itself, such as low advancement opportunity and no benefits, but that's not Cimmaron's fault. There are some members of the management that are kind of hard to get along with, but those are mainly personality issues, not matters of professionalism. And even then, those issues are very minor and anybody who is professional themselves can easily deal with them. As an independent contractor, it would be nice to be reviewed every once in a while just to know what we as contractors could work on, where we need to improve, and perhaps some issues that we need to correct.

    Continue reading
    Cimmaron Field Services2015-12-21
Found 24 reviews