Cinco Energy Management Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Cinco Energy Management Group Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Cinco Energy Management Group Founder and CEO Randy Nichols (no image)
Randy Nichols
9 Ratings
  1. "Growing, evolving and fun atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cinco Energy Management Group full-time

    Pros

    Great place to get variety and exposure to different levels of land services. Fun atmosphere, and open to change and growth. Work with you on your interest and strengths to keep you engaged and growing in your career. Understand the importance of family and work life.

    Cons

    Can get busy but exciting!

    Cinco Energy Management Group2019-06-17
  2. "Too unorganized to be this big of a firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Landman in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cinco Energy Management Group for less than a year

    Pros

    The day rate was fair and the independence of working most days from home was appropriate.

    Cons

    There is little to no central management and often no in-house location to meet anyone in person. Large projects seemed very unorganized and agreed upon contract stipulations are often ignored.

    Continue reading
    Cinco Energy Management Group2019-01-23
  3. "Better than nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cinco Energy Management Group full-time

    Pros

    Lots of people enjoy working for Cinco, for a few months, before they build up credibility and move on to other things.

    Cons

    *Improper employee/contractor classifications *Class system (contractors treated poorly) *Changing Expectations.

    Continue reading
    Cinco Energy Management Group2016-05-12
  4. "Landman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cinco Energy Management Group

    Pros

    Good Salary, Not Much Experience Required

    Cons

    Work proved to be tedious, little job security

    Cinco Energy Management Group2016-03-28
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Awful Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cinco Energy Management Group

    Pros

    The start of this job showed promise but after a few days you can tell management is uninformed and inexperienced.

    Cons

    One hand doesn't know what the other one is doing. Poor communication and direction on all levels resulted in a very frustrating experience here. Company protocol and values are the complete opposite of what they advertise.

    Cinco Energy Management Group2015-05-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Landman in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cinco Energy Management Group full-time

    Pros

    Cinco allows staff to work on a variety of projects and contribute in more than one way. They handle big industry deals and have a deep knowledge of land and due diligence best practices. The quality demanded is high and has motivated me to learn how to do my job better. The management is always working on improving the company and making it a good place to work. I have enjoyed working here.

    Cons

    The standards of work are higher than most other land companies. People must be willing to learn the Cinco way of doing work.

    Cinco Energy Management Group2014-08-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Career Growth; Supportive Team; Fun Productive Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant/Marketing Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cinco Energy Management Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working at Cinco due to its great work environment, family/cultural values, a very supportive team I had the pleasure to work with, and the opportunity to learn and grow beyond expectations. Management is always willing to listen to your needs and expectations and works hard to meet them.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons about the company, except my own personal decision to leave due to relocation to another city. I would've loved to continue working there!

    Continue reading
    Cinco Energy Management Group2014-07-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Totally unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Houston, TX
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cinco Energy Management Group

    Pros

    Money, if the client is paying. Cinco doesn't really do anything other than place landmen into projects and then take a fee from their clients. Maybe field projects are better run but it's highly unlikely. Hope you don't get stuck with a bunch of crazy coworkers like I did.

    Cons

    So unprofessional it's comical. They put awful people in charge of projects and then go away and do zero managing. The home office puts up a facade of professionalism but it's clear there is no communication inside the home office. They can't even so direct deposit of your paycheck.

    Continue reading
    Cinco Energy Management Group2014-08-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Sucks the life out of you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Landman in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cinco Energy Management Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The president is well known and respected in the industry inner circles.

    Cons

    Poor communication, inexperienced management, nepotism, favoritism, rates are lower than competitors, contractor/employee lines blurred, tends to hire people with law degrees who have little to no experience. The daily frustration of working here out weighs everything else.

    Continue reading
    Cinco Energy Management Group2014-08-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Landman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Landman 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Cinco Energy Management Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cinco is a fine brokerage company with a large client base that is always growing. Unlike most brokerages they do a good job of finding new work for all employees and contractors.

    Cons

    All decisions are made in the corporate office and you have to deal with a bureaucracy even though it is a small company.

    Continue reading
    Cinco Energy Management Group2014-07-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews