Cineworld Cinemas Reviews | Glassdoor

Cineworld Cinemas Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 315 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Moshe J. Greidinger
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free films and discounts on food(in 79 reviews)

  • "Free Movies, nice people, friendly management team(in 45 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excited for Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cineworld Cinemas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New leadership investing more in Regal; Long-term commitment to industry

    Cons

    Communication--not always clear on future plans

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating regularly to ensure all are on the same page

    Cineworld Cinemas2019-01-21
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Regal Cinemas was fine the way it was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cineworld Cinemas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I like being around my co workers but that’s all

    Cons

    Minimizing payroll decreases morale and increases the turnover rate. We run on a very “you work when we are making money” basis. No good movies come out, you don’t get hours. Higher management is demeaning and unprofessional when contacting or visiting theaters. Unrealistic cleaning expectations especially for buildings that are practically ancient and accrue dust immediately. Customer service is out the window. Minimizing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Replace upper management

    Cineworld Cinemas2018-10-24
  3. Helpful (9)

    "They think they know it all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cineworld Cinemas part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None yet for cineworld. Our management whonhave transferred over is solid. Those that work in the trenches and deal with the absurd requests of our new corporate overlords are hard working smart individuals. The CEOs of cineworld however need A LOT of help.

    Cons

    Removing policies put in place by our former owners and adding nonsense such as zero signage in the lobby marking customer service locations and information to run the crowds smoothly. Not allowed to have ORGANIZED concession lines with tensile barriers. Film marketing material or tensile ropes of any kind are like the devil to these people. Basically allowing chaos to reign in the lobbies of our regal cinemas all because...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Raise hell with our new corporate overloads they are absured in their policies and practices.

    Cineworld Cinemas2018-06-20
  4. "Fair enough."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cineworld Cinemas full-time

    Pros

    Managers were fair and friendly. The work can be quite social. 2 free tickets a day.

    Cons

    Unsurprisingly, no intellectual element. Cleaning, long/unsociable hours. Can be working 15 hours one week, 45 the next.

    Cineworld Cinemas2017-03-06
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multi-functional in Huntingdon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Cineworld Cinemas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good colleagues, Responsive Management, Great Perks, Sometimes Enjoyable Work, Progression from Within

    Cons

    Anti-social hours without compensation, very occasional angry customer

    Cineworld Cinemas2019-07-15
  6. "Flexible job, but not a great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cineworld Cinemas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free films for you +1, good team members to work alongside. Flexible - easy to swap or get rid of shifts.

    Cons

    Little to no progression opportunities. When big films are released (think Avengers, Disney etc) it can get overwhelmingly busy and tiring. Staff turnover is crazily high. At times the dynamic with the managers can seem like you're pupils in a school, this isn't helped by the majority of staff being students. Late hours and lots of weekend work. If you're full time the last thing you'll want to do after a 5/6 day week...

    Show More
    Cineworld Cinemas2019-07-18
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Enfield, England

    I worked at Cineworld Cinemas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I really did learn a lot and the management of the branch I worked at were really great. They paid slightly over minimum wage which was a plus. The environment was also quite great. Although the job was tough sometimes, with the understanding managers, supervisors and great colleagues, it was a relatively delightful place to work. I would definitely return if I could.

    Cons

    The shift patterns are awful. Sometimes we would be scheduled to work until 01:00 am and be on until 03:00. They also offer no refreshments whatsoever, we would only get free drinks if we had worked way over time, never under any brighter circumstances.

    Advice to Management

    Offer refreshments to your employees. It really wouldn't hurt the profit margins if your employees got a drink a day or something like that.

    Cineworld Cinemas2019-07-02
  8. "Good place to work for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cineworld Cinemas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free cinema for yourself and friends Other staff

    Cons

    Management very quickly to hang you out to dry.

    Cineworld Cinemas2019-07-12
  9. "Find something better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Team Member 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cineworld Cinemas full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits such as free tickets for you and your guest & 40% off

      Cons

      Management are far too strict considering it’s only a cinema,Communication is awful, something is always wrong e.g tills never working/card machines never working/films failing to play and staff members are left to deal with it(you’d think management would step in and apologise to customers, but no) Staff members really don’t get appreciated enough considering how stressful the job is!

      Advice to Management

      Help staff a bit more and praise us, seems like all that gets mentioned is negatives.

      Cineworld Cinemas2019-07-09
    • "Great Company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Member 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cineworld Cinemas full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent progression opportunities Usually a fun place to work at Management cares great working environment

      Cons

      Late night shifts, can be till 4am A lot more cleaning than expected A lot of immature staff members

      Advice to Management

      Not have too many immature staff members crack down more on staff members who are not pulling their weight.

      Cineworld Cinemas2019-06-23
    Found 315 reviews