Cintas Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Cintas CEO Scott D. Farmer
Scott D. Farmer
1,731 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits for health insurance(in 212 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits that kick in 30 days after start(in 210 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes Long hours during the week(in 171 reviews)

  • "Too corporate and very limited work life balance(in 160 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cintas and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great Company Great Culture

      Nov 11, 2020 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company Culture, Structure, Ability to relocate

      Cons

      None. There is always room for growth.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Cintas opened doors for me I didn't know where there!

      Mar 31, 2021 - Market Sales Manager in Columbia, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Income, performance based succession, training, mentorship, stability, work-life balance is amazing given the income

      Cons

      Only petty things, nothing major

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Colleagues, Stale Culture and Outdated Practices

      May 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had the pleasure of working with some great co-workers, colleagues, and managers in the specific division I worked in. Our specific office also tried its best to bring the culture to the 21st century, but could only go so far.

      Cons

      Culture, IT infrastructure, offices practices, and procedures are all outdated. When you walk into the headquarters of Mason, OH, prepare for an incredibly stale and 1990's corporate environment with the "business professional" dress code (suits and ties on men, blazers on women), old tan cubicles, and dry personalities. Luckily I was in the Chicago office where things tended to a LITTLE more casual, but always seemed as if our office was pushing the limits of being able to take the workplace to the 21st century. Working from home was basically unheard of, and IT was not prepared during the pandemic to let employees work remotely properly. They also force you to use Internet Explorer as your main browser. Egos also tend to run rampant in some departments/roles. This is definitely a "sip the kool-aid" type of company where employees get sucked in to thinking Cintas is the greatest because they're comfortable in their role and get handed these shiny "awards" for their hard work that are completely irrelevant to anywhere outside of the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Unethical, over-valued company

      Apr 30, 2021 - Several Different Positions in Mason, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some room for growth, competitive corporate culture, ok benefits.

      Cons

      In my opinion, Their number one priority is their shareholders, and not their customers nor employees. In April of 2020, as their business slowed down for a single quarter due to a pandemic that they knew was occurring since Jan, they laid of appx 10-15% of their labor, which in my opinion was to keep EPS high. They also sue their customers for ridiculous contract breaches if they cancel their rental service based off a legal agreement no average person would understand in my opinion. They underpay their production and operations employees. They do not invest in R&D and are decades behind in operational infrastructure and technology. They have very little organic growth and rely heavily on acquisitions and investing in PR/their brand to show growth year after year. Customers they gain through acqustions, Cintas attempts to raise their prices on same services. They have offshored manufactoring overseas to reduce costs too. There are so many Cons with this company, I could name serveral more. I'm disgusted with myself for staying with such an unethical company for as long as I did.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Tough But Rewarding

      May 6, 2021 - Management Trainee in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Advancement Job Security Industry Leader Sales Accessibility of upper management

      Cons

      Hours Communication Corporate process time You are the "do what needs to be done" person. period.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible Management, HR, systems

      Apr 14, 2021 - Service Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some co-workers aren't fake all the time

      Cons

      Micromanaging, HR never helpful, pay is unfair, favoritism shines

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      .

      May 6, 2021 - Accounts Receivable Supervisor in Chester, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay, Great benefits, and nice people

      Cons

      very busy, not enough communication

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome company & culture

      May 5, 2021 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great organization with a ton of potential for growth and professional development.

      Cons

      All companies can improve a little but overall no complaints.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Company consistently over promises and under delivers to both customers and employees.

      Apr 8, 2021 - Market Development Representative in Madison Heights, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, autonomy, Monday-Friday was nice.

      Cons

      Serious lack of organization, lack of accountability, archaic internal systems, sales and service are supposed to “work together” but doesn’t work that way. Training is almost nonexistent and expectations are high, which is part of the reason they have such high turnover. This happened to myself as well, but I have seen leadership lie to new hires about the sales roles and seriously over promising results. I took a $15k pay cut moving to this company and constantly told I was doing a great job, when they told me I would easily make $15k more; to me a $30k swing the other way is very misleading to just get someone to join the team. During the pandemic directors stated we could not bring back furloughed people because we couldn’t financially handle it. Meanwhile production and service teams struggle due to understaffing, and not 3 weeks later the same directors announce they had the best financial quarter ever! Not to mention zero pay raises because of COVID but leadership still got their bonuses. Great tactics

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      May 4, 2021 - Production Supervisor in Springdale, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company for a young professional, if you're willing relocation you shouldn't have a problem growing the company.

      Cons

      Production Supervisor aren't eligible for bonuses.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,525 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cintas Job Seekers

    Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Service Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Facility Services Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Representative - Uniform
    Learn About the Job
    First Aid and Safety Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Cintas? Share Your Experiences

    or