Circle K "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Circle K Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Dec 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
44%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Circle K CEO  Robert Lavinia (no image)
Robert Lavinia
487 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Real low pay relative to what you are required to do(in 83 reviews)

  • "Upper management would tell you something needed to be done before you leave(in 79 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Auditor in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Circle K full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Advancement is possible, the company is always expanding.

    Cons

    A lot of the individual sites are short staffed and a lot of the problem is due to low pay wages for cashiers.

    Continue reading
    Circle K2018-09-15
  2. "Typical Retail Gas Station Job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Circle K

    Pros

    - Job was very easy. As long as you have a pulse, you’ll have no problem getting hired. - Got plenty of hours and a flexible schedule. Paid sick and vacation time. - Free Polar Pop drinks

    Cons

    - Typical problems working with the public, like difficult customers. - Low pay. - Filling in for other employees meant working double shifts, weekends, and overnights. - Not much room for advancement. - Required to work on holidays if assigned. - Corporate Micromanagement

    Continue reading
    Circle K2019-12-23
  3. "No training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Circle K full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customers ....can be amazing

    Cons

    No training. Upper management expects perfection. Low pay. high school like drama and gossip.

    Continue reading
    Circle K2019-12-20
  4. "Good starter job....not sustainable for someone with dependents."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Walker, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Circle K full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility. Getting to meet and talk to a wide variety of customers, some becoming like family. Great teamwork atmosphere.

    Cons

    Pay is very low. Benefits are too expensive for such low pay. I don’t know how anyone could afford it with the pay.

    Circle K2019-09-24
  5. "Last Resort Type Job Honestly. Read below."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Circle K full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -coworkers can be cool -free drinks -The regulars are great, they genuinely care about what's going on with you.

    Cons

    -no paid sick days. -unpaid maternity leave (FMLA) -insurance is awful. - it will pay $60 up to 4 times a year. -not enough pay for the amount of work that is expected. -very stressful - no breaks -no designated meal time -not enough staff, working alone is awful -very low pay with no raise -you can get less than a weeks vacation if you work there for 2 years -very unprofessional management I Had a very bad experience working for this company. I worked at circle k during my first pregnancy and i was very sick throughout. every time i went to work and had to leave a little early or had to call out because my health wasn't good enough to work i was given a very hard time. My manager -on several occasions- cursed at me when i had to call out due to my health problems. When i should have been concerned about my baby i was having to worry about keeping my crappy job. I only got 3 weeks for maternity leave and it wasn't paid. Two big thumbs down for this company in my book.

    Continue reading
    Circle K2019-09-02
  6. "Not enough pay and unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Circle K

    Pros

    There were no pros to working with the company

    Cons

    No discounts Low pay rate Unprofessional

    Continue reading
    Circle K2019-06-24
  7. "Pretty crappy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Port Saint Lucie, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Circle K part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly paychecks, fairly mindless duties, sometimes there are funny/nice regulars

    Cons

    Minimal training, one person per shift, crackheads , violent drunk people, soul sucking dead end job, passive aggressive/powertripping management, low pay, mandatory upselling, management watches you on surveillance video and punishes you for saying anything other than "take it easy" when transaction is completed. Management makes up new tasks and yell at you for not doing them. Employees with arthritis are not allowed to sit if their feet hurt when standing, are told to "put pressure on the other foot " when asked what to do about pain. Too high a workload for one person to complete, employees with arthritis are expected to fully stock the drink cooler which involves heavy lifting, are berated and micromanaged when not fully stocked. Employees are told that they will work a mix of second and third shifts but are placed exclusively on third shift and given runaround when requesting to be put on different shift. No breaks, although management seems entitled to unlimited smoke breaks and socializing outside store for 30 minutes.

    Continue reading
    Circle K2019-06-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Very Basic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Circle K full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule. friendly and okay company culture

    Cons

    -Low pay - Long hours - Unnecessary management pressure

    Circle K2019-05-01
  9. "Work Hard and long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Circle K full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, days fly by. Regular customers are great. Managers get good insurance for sure.

    Cons

    Real low pay relative to what you are required to do.

    Continue reading
    Circle K2019-04-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "They could do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Longwood, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Circle K full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Independent for the most part , if you do your job.

    Cons

    Low pay for CSR, which ends up being a higher turnover.

    Continue reading
    Circle K2019-03-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 83 reviews