Circuit Court of Cook County Reviews | Glassdoor

Circuit Court of Cook County Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Circuit Court of Cook County

    Pros

    Benefits are out of this world

    Cons

    Mandatory pension contrib is too high

    Circuit Court of Cook County2018-11-18
  2. "Misdemeanor and Traffic Probation with specialty working with hearing impaired using American Sign Language."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Caseworker I in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Circuit Court of Cook County full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Making a difference in people's lives.

    Cons

    Difficult to change locations within the company.

    Advice to Management

    During high volume days supervisors need to pitch in and help until the chaos lessens.

    Circuit Court of Cook County2019-01-28
  3. "Looking for a new job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pre-Trial Officer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Circuit Court of Cook County full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits for employees only

    Cons

    Not fair with their promotions process

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent when discipline employees

    Circuit Court of Cook County2019-02-19
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Probation officer/caseworker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Probation Officer/Caseworke in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Circuit Court of Cook County full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You coordinate, structure, and manage your time.

    Cons

    The cook county budget practices are inconsistent

    Circuit Court of Cook County2018-04-04
  5. "Low Morale!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Circuit Court of Cook County full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, good benefits, job security

    Cons

    Hard workers are taken advantage of, bad workers are rewarded with less work and coddled.

    Advice to Management

    Address issues with workers directly-don't just ignore them. Concentrate on important issues instead of petty things.

    Circuit Court of Cook County2018-03-29
  6. "Poor Infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Program Facilitator in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Circuit Court of Cook County part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At the forefront of juvenile criminal rehabilitation trends in the United States Relaxed manager attitudes

    Cons

    Terrible office culture No real room for advancement

    Circuit Court of Cook County2018-02-09
  7. "Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Circuit Court of Cook County full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good medical and dental insurance benefits.

    Cons

    If you are connected with the Clerk or any upper level management, you'll be ok. If not look out anything might happen. They only promote their friends & family wheather they can do the job or not.

    Advice to Management

    Train your people the correct way, and stop putting people in positions that have no experience or a clue in the job.

    Circuit Court of Cook County2017-10-07
  8. "Decent Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Judicial Law Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Circuit Court of Cook County full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get a lot of responsibility and good working hours.

    Cons

    Depending on your judge, he or she may act as a mentor, while others may go days without talking to you. As the only clerk for a judge who was very hands off and unapproachable, it wasn't the fulfilling experience I had hoped for.

    Circuit Court of Cook County2016-11-21
  9. "Circuit Court Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Clerk of Circuit Court in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Circuit Court of Cook County for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers. I've had the opportunity to learn a lot about the law and how policies work. I've had the opportunity to inspire some of my customers.

    Cons

    Grandfather clock ways of doing things, low pay, no room for growth unless you have been there 30 years .

    Circuit Court of Cook County2016-09-09
  10. "Judicial Law Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Circuit Court of Cook County for more than a year

    Pros

    Clerking really is one of the best ways for new attorneys to become versed in state law and procedure. Most of the judges take a pedagogical approach with their clerks and are genuinely interested in helping them achieve their career goals. It's a very friendly, collegial work atmosphere. I've been able to work on many interesting cases. The hours are humane.

    Cons

    Low pay. Hopelessly outdated technology and facilities. Daley Center bureaucracy can be frustrating to navigate and slow to respond.

    Circuit Court of Cook County2016-08-18
Found 27 reviews