Cisco Systems Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Cisco Systems Senior Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Manager in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Innovation, endless resources, focus on people and experiences, work/life balance, great benefits

    Cons

    Big company, lots of people to keep up with

    Cisco Systems2019-10-14
  2. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility and support for those with families Smart and friendly people Many career opportunities across various departments

    Cons

    Too many people to get things done fast Yearly layoffs When you're notified of being let go the "we're here to support you" is all talk and not action

    Advice to Management

    Walk the talk of your culture and values

    Cisco Systems2019-10-17
  3. "Latino who has grown my 19 year career at Cisco in Europe, Latin America & US"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineering Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Empowerement: the company trusts their employees to drive business Flexibility: you can work from home when needed Benefits: has some great benefits

    Cons

    We are in a journey of transforming ourselves from hardware to software, to subscription business models. This creates disruption internally and constant change so this can be a pro or a con depending on your preferences.

    Cisco Systems2019-10-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic political culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in San Jose, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn the art of Product Management. You get a very rounded experience of all aspects and get significant ownership of a product, not just its pieces. Cisco trained Product managers do very well in the industry. Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    Cisco pays lesser than Bay Area average. The Service Provider Networking Group I worked in was simply political and toxic. Favoritism and clique culture was rife. Things were done simply to make people feel bad. I was also discriminated against because I was a woman with a voice and an opinion. I used to hear stories of how the "old boys gang" used to get together over drinks and trash the women in the team.

    Advice to Management

    Clean up this toxic culture. Have some ethics. Embrace diversity. Give everyone a chance to succeed.

    Cisco Systems2019-10-11
  5. "Much better than it use to be - promising future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager - Strategy & Operations in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    WFH policies, new personal wellness priorities, scheduled reviews

    Cons

    no cost of living adjustments

    Cisco Systems2019-09-22
  6. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Cisco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, amazing company to work for.

    Cons

    Nothing, well managed, fiscally on target

    Advice to Management

    Maintain culture

    Cisco Systems2019-09-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not the Cisco it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pays well and great benefits

    Cons

    Ever since Chambers left the positive family employee culture is gone. They now just look to hire young people And get rid of loyal hard working employees. Very sad.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees and you will be able to keep people.

    Cisco Systems2019-09-22
  8. "Great Company for starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    end to end PM experience

    Cons

    less focus on organic innovations

    Cisco Systems2019-08-14
  9. "Good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Respectful, Work-life balance and Benefit is good

    Cons

    Decision chain is too long.

    Cisco Systems2019-08-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, amazing benefits, very talented people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager - Strategy & Operations in Boxborough, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Leadership gets it. Amazing culture, very flexible work-life balance.

    Cons

    Poor workforce management and thus Annual lay-offs.

    Advice to Management

    Better career development opportunities. Yearly lay-offs are just brutal and costs a lot of productivity.

    Cisco Systems2019-08-05
Found 537 reviews