Cisco Systems Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Cisco Systems Senior Manager Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO

Reviews by divisions

  1. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems
    Helpful (1)

    "Constant Re-org"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in San Jose, CA

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cisco is a great technology company and moves fast through acquisition. While that is good for business its not that great for employees, especially those who have worked there for a while. Every acquisition comes with a re-org. Plus there is constant churn at the VP/SVP level.

    Cons

    Un-due stress created for employees through constant re-org and resulting job cuts. Even in profitable businesses. Part of working for a company is a sense of trust that it has your back. In Cisco, its very clear to most employees that they cannot trust the company to take care of them. The next acquisition might take them out.

    Cisco Systems2018-09-30
  2. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems
    Helpful (4)

    "Layoff layoff layoff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Product Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, work life balance, you can just sit around not cone to office and still get paid

    Cons

    Stress, passive aggressive, no promotions or career growth, no salary increase

    Continue reading
    Cisco Systems2018-09-27
  3. "Sr. Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth, telecommute, work/life balance, amazing culture

    Cons

    Cannot move quick enough to meet market demands

    Cisco Systems2018-08-14
  4. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is great

    Cons

    Need more advancement opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Cisco Systems2018-08-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it used to be and not for 'early in career' or upward focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    * Pays slightly above market * Good work life balance * Generous work from home * People are generally pretty nice if a bit passive

    Cons

    * No upward mobility. Absolutely zero. You will be at the same level you hired into * Boredom. You will be doing the same very narrow task again and again and again. Or you will be waiting for decisions from levels above you. * Very very siloed. Deliberately. You will probably have limited interaction with your immediate team. Pretty lonely * Annual layoffs. The behavior and performance problems are long gone and the people now getting laid off are bad fits for their organization. Why are they bad fits? Usually because of a prior botched reorganization that was poorly thought out * You will be reorganized every 3 to 5 quarters. Expect it

    Continue reading
    Cisco Systems2018-08-22
  6. "Good place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture, Reasonable perks in 70th quartile compared to other high tech companies

    Cons

    growth is limited now with aging management team, u will have to sell yourself.

    Continue reading
    Cisco Systems2018-08-15
  7. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working on Cutting Edge Technologies

    Cons

    Continual Layoffs; Employees get demotivated

    Cisco Systems2018-08-06
  8. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems
    Helpful (1)

    "Very good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Project Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems for more than 5 years

    Pros

    At Cisco I've worked with some of the smartest, most hard working people I have met in my 20+ years as a project manager. If you are a PM, you know how critical it is to have dedicated engineers to work on your projects. At Cisco, PMs are highly respected and given a great deal of responsibility. PMs have real responsibility for managing cost and revenue budgets. Unlike some of the positions I've held in the past where I was never even allowed to see the budget or know the revenue. Also, contractors are treated with the same level of respect as FTEs. Contractors are just as much part of the team as anyone else. We are rarely excluded from things. Occasionally there will be a company meeting where only FTE's are invited but that is very infrequent.

    Cons

    There are a lot of internal systems that the PM has to use that are slow, not terribly robust in how they connect together, and often cause a great deal of administrative overhead to projects. The company talks about how "managing the customer relationship" takes precedence over the administrative tasks but doesn't really walk the talk. If you are out of compliance with respect to cost/revenue forecasting, project closure, etc. you get a black mark even if your manager knows that it's because you need to spend time controlling/monitoring your projects. The workload can be heavy and unrealistic at times.

    Continue reading
    Cisco Systems2018-07-18
  9. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Work hard with other smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Development Manager in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Take good care of engineers

    Cons

    Stressful environment due to daily commit calls

    Cisco Systems2018-06-21
  10. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Times are changing, mostly for the better, and quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Incredible ongoing focus on people and experiences Opportunities to help determine direction just keep coming Executives really want to hear from everyone, not a yes culture Employees feel more heard and a part of decisions around what's next Easy to rotate or move into other parts of the business to round out your skills and knowledge Recognizes the need to evolve constantly and tries to do so

    Cons

    Sometimes we focus too much on making a change instead of is it the right one to make. We don't always backpedal fast when we realize we took the wrong course. Experiences are not consistent across the company.

    Continue reading
    Cisco Systems2018-05-24
Found 535 reviews