Cisco Systems "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cisco Systems Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Work-life balance is generally good with Cisco IT(in 2808 reviews)

  • "With best IT environment providing very flexible work style(in 1245 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews by divisions

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong leadership, amazing work/life balance, work hard/play hard atmosphere

    Cons

    Not much room for growth with certain departments due to very little turnover.

    Cisco Systems2019-11-12
  2. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems
    Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great perks. Work/life balance. Ability to work remotely

    Cons

    Threat of layoffs always hanging over your head.

    Cisco Systems2019-11-05
  3. "Best Company I ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Salary, and good work life balance

    Cons

    annual layoffs can be stressful

    Cisco Systems2019-11-20
  4. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems
    Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    * Depending on the project, but lately Cisco has been working on latest technology stack * Good work life balance * Lot of perks other than salary

    Cons

    * Less stock options as compared to other top companies in bay area * Too much politics especially for growth

    Advice to Management

    Need to pay more to retain good talent

    Cisco Systems2019-11-04
  5. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Java Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Java Developer in Richardson, TX

    I have been working at Cisco Systems for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros We have an exceptional team of employees who work hard to do the right thing for our clients and the firm every day. Great culture and good people Training and mobility Friendly employee engagement with clients Good Culture. Very Professional and organized "There is so much flexibility with work/life balance that it makes it easy to come into work in the morning" Now for an... organisation running the show ,it is inevitable to have a backend and a frontend. This organisation's backend is sound proof and knows how to manage their downtime. Open organization flexible timings. Company takes your contributions seriously

    Show More

    Cons

    Amazing benefits program, casual office, free snacks, tons of events and happy hours. Great existing product that works really well, and some of the best people you'll ever work with. Cons Organisation has become large and complicated No system in place in most of the countries like India. lot of Manual intervention There are growing pains as the company continues to evolve You don't wanna learn ,... not for you.

    Show More
    Cisco Systems2019-10-19
  6. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Best Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible work life balance, great culture

    Cons

    Reorganization can be more frequent than desired due to company going through a transition from hardware focused to software and recurring revenue

    Cisco Systems2019-10-17
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Manager in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Innovation, endless resources, focus on people and experiences, work/life balance, great benefits

    Cons

    Big company, lots of people to keep up with

    Cisco Systems2019-10-14
  8. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems
    Helpful (1)

    "Nice Place to Work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibly , strong remote work culture, great work life balance, good diversity (gender and racial), variability in teams and projects you can choose to work on, solid benefits and perks

    Cons

    new in data science, frequent re-orgs, no free food every day of the week

    Advice to Management

    at least in the bay area offices provide more food options to add efficiency and compete with other big companies

    Cisco Systems2019-10-10
  9. Cisco Systems - Engineering - Software | Division of Cisco Systems

    "Great flexibility and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love my job and my team! The culture is supportive and work-life balance is a high priority.

    Cons

    as far as I know none.

    Cisco Systems2019-10-11
  10. Cisco Systems - Customer Experience | Division of Cisco Systems
    Helpful (1)

    "started my career at Cisco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in San Jose, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cisco Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work culture, good work-life balance, interesting projects. It can be great if you have a manager who supports and goes out of their way for you.

    Cons

    Top heavy company with limited talent cultivation. The way up is by leaving and being re-hired - says a lot about their self-assessment that they value people outside their company vs inside. There is no documentation of success, talent reviews, etc so when re-orgs happen, you have zero track record and no say in what happens to you role-wise. You are a new hire when you get re-orged with the same timeline reset... before your career can progress. Unless you are a manager, you can go 5+ years without even a COLA. Heavily political environment where sponsorship is required, so there is a strong need to play the game and cultivate strong relationships from the get go.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job of documenting track record, talent, and plans. Managers are people, with bias, and they leave. Teams get left in the dust.

    Cisco Systems2019-10-21
Found 2164 reviews