Citco "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Citco Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
52%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Citco CEO Christopher Smeets (no image)
Christopher Smeets
228 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long hours and poor yearly increments(in 151 reviews)

  • "There will be a fair amount of overtime regardless of attempt to keep work life balance for employees(in 107 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - V P in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere Collaborative team efforts Good technology Good benefits Good team environment

    Cons

    Long working hours Salary constraint work life balance team building activities Stress management

    Citco2019-07-29

    Citco Response

    July 29, 2019VP Human Resources

    Really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you are having a positive experience working at Citco. We hope that employees will take advantage of our Optional Hours Policy during our non-busy periods to help balance the busy periods. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We love receiving feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citco for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Work life balance is great

    Cons

    Pay is low. not for everyone

    Continue reading
    Citco2017-11-06

    Citco Response

    November 10, 2017Executive Vice President, HR Operations, Europe

    Dear Citco colleague, It's great to see a review from a current employee. Often reviews come from people who have decided, for one reason or another, that Citco wasn't for them, and obviously that colors their opinion. So to see a 5 star review from a current employee is super!

    Continue reading
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, wiling to spend on training

    Cons

    Pay below market, senior management not on same page

    Citco2019-08-10

    Citco Response

    August 12, 2019Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is positive to hear that you had a good work life balance while working with us as this has been a real area of focus recently, based on feedback we received. We continue to take all feedback received on board so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and wishing you all the best!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Treasury Analyst in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Citco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Energetic young professional work force.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is tough to accomplish with long hours. Management is not transparent with latest company updates. Mass layoffs. Work is being transferred to other countries.

    Citco2019-07-15

    Citco Response

    July 17, 2019HR

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time working with your colleagues. I appreciate that our industry is one where there are times that require overtime and we try to balance this with policies and practices that promote and support health and wellbeing. Also, you rightly point out that Citco is building capability in the Asia region to support sustainable growth. This reorganization is in line with our global strategy to increase efficiencies. We are always looking at how we can improve so thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. "VP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Citco full-time

    Pros

    Good culture, many opportunities if you work hard

    Cons

    Too busy, no work life balance

    Citco2018-03-23

    Citco Response

    March 23, 2018Executive Vice President, HR Operations, Europe

    This is a fair review. It is a great culture, and opportunities exist for those who wish to pursue them. But there are certain times of the month /year when we are exceptionally busy. This is recognised as common symptom of our industry , but nonetheless one that Citco is continually trying to address in respect of people's work /life and balance and duty of care to their health & well-being.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Fund Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citco full-time

    Pros

    Upper Management willing to help you learn and grow within the industry.

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance is terrible and the client relationship is always placed above keeping employees in house happy.

    Citco2017-09-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company for people who take action"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, family owned, good benefits. The most successful people are ones that do whatever is needed on any given day. Staff who want to stay in their box do not advance rapidly.

    Cons

    Complex organization that takes some time to learn how to get things done. Work - Life balance is not always the best.

    Continue reading
    Citco2017-05-20

    Citco Response

    May 22, 2017Director, Retention Lead

    Dear Colleague - thank you for your 4 star rating and constructive feedback. Great to hear from a member of Sr. Management with such long tenure. While this is one vehicle to communicate with the company, we hope that you are also using your influence and internal network to raise up your advice and ideas to different areas of the company. They are all helpful in the quest for continuous improvement.

    Continue reading
  8. "Not bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Citco full-time

    Pros

    Easy going. Nice people. Work life balance

    Cons

    Can get boring at times

    Citco2017-04-06

    Citco Response

    April 6, 2017Director, Retention Lead

    Dear Colleague - thanks for taking time to leave a positive review. If you are bored from time to time, I'd encourage you to see how you can help others on your team, or ask your manager if there is a special project you can add value to. Take the opportunity to review our eLearning content and teach yourself a new computer skill. There are always areas for improvement in any company - see how you can grow and contribute further.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Worst experience of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Reporting Senior Accountant in Malvern, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay Good work/ life balance for a client services firm Nice office Free beer Some people are nice but

    Cons

    Dysfunctional HR department Terrible team structure with temps to hire Some managers are not fit to lead and have no concept of leadership

    Continue reading
    Citco2017-04-13

    Citco Response

    April 21, 2017Local HR, Malvern PA Office

    Dear Former Colleague: Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the pros listed and agree we have a good group of people we work with and make every effort to remain competitive with the market. While we also respect your right to critique areas where we might improve, we find certain of the comments to be in conflict with the positive views that you provided. Please note that HR and management are responsible for the positive statements that you made of the organization. It is unfortunate that you felt the need to express some negative sentiment around the HR function and certain management. I would have liked the opportunity to have known of your concerns while a member of our team, so that we could engage in a dialogue and attempt to find a solution to the concerns you have identified. Although you may feel some of our managers are not fit to lead, we do have strong leaders that would have been very willing to address your concerns. Our business has experienced great success with hiring temporary staff for over 8 years. Of course, there are some challenges; yet our client service teams require additional staffing during our busy season and this model has continued to evolve and proved effective over a long period of time. We have been fortunate to have been able to identify certain temporary staff for permanent roles. In my mind, this is yet another positive result of our structure. Conversely, After some training if someone has been identified as not grasping the expectations of the role their contract is terminated. The organization strongly supports internal growth and development and we have promoted many individuals to a management role. We will continue in our efforts to support our managers and provide them with the training they need to continue to succeed. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Very poor company with inept management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Citco full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay. Vacation is standard even though they claim it's great. Most managers look down upon you using vacation anyways. Free health benefits yet you still pay a deductible, so it evens out in the end if you actually use insurance.

    Cons

    Management is absolutely horrendous. Most directors in the company are of no assistance nor do they care about the general well being of employees and are totally under qualified for their position. Some employees work 60+ hours a week and then are expected to come in on weekends as well. The company now requires you to sign a non compete. HR does not properly handle any employee requests or complaints and basically ignores employees until they resign. There is a huge lack of internal promoting. Turnover is high and most employees are unhappy within the office. Employees are viewed as robots with no personal lives and need to work endless hours to ensure upper management can collect a bonus. Also, bonus's are non existent or very small unless you are at the director level. Very weak work life balance is present at this company.

    Continue reading
    Citco2017-04-05

    Citco Response

    April 13, 2017Change Management Leader - HRD Professional Services

    Dear colleague – thank you for your review, we always appreciate the time it takes to provide feedback. To try to address your comments above, employee wellbeing is of utmost importance in Citco, and we understand it’s our people that are key to the many successes Citco has achieved. It's not always easy, and I understand with heavy workloads where people are extraordinarily busy at various points in the year striking the right work/life balance can be challenging. However, we try to counteract this through our policies and practices that support health, happiness and wellbeing. Also, management do actively monitor staff workloads and hours through our OTL system to try to create solutions and efficiencies to better manage busy periods within their teams. Integrity is one of the core HR values, where the HR team strives to act in an ethical and principled manner at all times when dealing with all requests and feedback. All feedback is taken seriously whereby we seek to continuously enhance and improve every employee’s experience in Citco. If you have any suggestions or initiatives that you think could improve things I encourage you to reach out and voice these suggestions with your manager or HR in your location. As ultimately we all have a part to play in ensuring a positive work environment for us all.

    Continue reading
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 154 Reviews