Citizens Bank "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Citizens Bank Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
786 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales goals were sometimes unrealistic(in 111 reviews)

  • "Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Never had a bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker in Elizabethtown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary is twice what I was making at Santander , branch environment is awesome, some of my best friends are from work, management helps you grow within your career, incentive plan for bonus’s are easy to obtain, upper management knows you by name

    Cons

    Turnover, leaves branches always short staffed, seems like the training process is 6 months

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2019-08-09

    Citizens Bank Response

    August 13, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for such a shining review! We're so happy to hear you are growing with us at Citizens Bank, and that you've become close to your team. Keep up the amazing work!

    Continue reading
  2. "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Mortgage Analyst Specialist in Glen Allen, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great bank to work for that is very involved in the communities where it operates. Good upper management. Great fellow employees. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Outdated technology and computer equipment.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2019-12-30

    Citizens Bank Response

    January 8, 2020Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. Great to hear you enjoy working at Citizens, and that you're feeling involved in the community in Glen Allen! Know that we're also actively taking steps to update our legacy systems to modernize our work environment and simplify our processes even more. We hope you had a terrific New Year!

    Continue reading
  3. "Solid company with opportunity to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Management 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They promote within when appropriate. They care about their colleagues and upper management is very visible and ready to help. They have great promotions and create an exciting environment to work in.

    Cons

    Way too focused on checking accounts. They are important but they make you feel like nothing matters if you don't hit your checking goal. They push it so much that most new accounts turnover quickly because they are not quality. Also, Instores should close just like the rest of the traditional branches and consolidate them..way too many branches, its inifficient. The general public does not need 7 day in person banking. It's almost 2020.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2019-12-23

    Citizens Bank Response

    December 31, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for posting a review, and for your over 8 years with us! We appreciate the thoughtfulness of your feedback. Know that a ton of research goes into the setting of sales-related goals, like checking accounts. The majority of our colleagues achieve those goals. Additionally, we're actively preparing for the future of banking and adapting to customers' rapidly changing needs through our Branch Network Transformation initiative. Keep up the amazing work going into 2020 — we hope you had a lovely time during the holidays!

    Continue reading
  4. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great benefits some of the managers are wonderful upper management needs some direction

    Cons

    in store hours are long not life balance

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2019-11-15
  5. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Plymouth, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Scheduling, good starting point in a career. Room for advancement.

    Cons

    Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality. Constant changes in policy and ways of operating.

    Citizens Bank2019-06-21
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Number of job openings says it all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    PTO, bank holidays, 401k Helping customers financially Big initiative for volunteering, community involvement

    Cons

    Upper management and company not authentic Big shift in culture over past couple years Feels more like Jim Jones cult Rapidly changing policies as to not look like Wells Fargo but an incentive plan and extreme pressure to make daily sales goals that don’t align. Very little opportunity for growth for manager Extremely high turnover in store branches leaving managers to consistently work upwards of 50-55 hours a week No work life balance No loyalty to loyal long term colleagues On firing frenzy over past year

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2019-06-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Leadership by fear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Johnston, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    The new building was nice

    Cons

    Everyone has an ego, the Digital Consumer management will treat employees very poorly if they are not part of the "clique" that was wildly apparent. Multiple former coworkers were brought to tears from how rude this team was. Unfortunately this mindset comes from the top down, and is reflected by upper management in this space as well.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2019-05-27
  8. "It's not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Licensed Relationship Manager 

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    40 hours, decent salary. work isnt very hard

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth opportunities and upper management micromanages

    Citizens Bank2019-04-04
  9. "Tenured employee, but not valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    PTO Paternity leave 401k Co-workers, team On-boarding program Credo recognition program

    Cons

    Business line upper management changes are very frequent which leads to no clear set direction or constant change of focus/direction every 18 months to two years. Sales turnover is ridiculously high leaving others to permanently pick up the slack without relief, acknowledgment (much less thanks) or compensation. They conduct a lot of internal surveys but employees don’t feel comfortable giving honest feedback. Management doesn’t have the self-awareness to realize they are part of the problem. Exit interviews aren’t conducted. Annual review process lacks integrity. Citizens rating system is directly tied to the annual merit increase. Dollars for merit increases are budgeted and allocated much earlier in the year, so Management is already limited to what they can give, which ties back to the rating you get. That can impact your promotability as well as potential for future officer nominations. While improving, Citizens technology is very unimpressive. It’s outdated with many systems that don’t talk to one another. They’ve been making infrastructure improvements, but it is still really lacking on a majority of fronts. In the last 5 years, there has been three major reorganizations in my division. This is sold as “a great new initiative” but really causes significant upheaval, worry and discord. Too much constant change is not good.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2019-02-15
  10. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Glen Allen, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Citizens Bank for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worker-friendly environment Good work/life balance most of the time

    Cons

    No clear corporate vision from upper management Lack of current technology (software)

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2018-12-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 126 reviews