Citizens Bank "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Citizens Bank Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Citizens Bank CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
785 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales goals were sometimes unrealistic(in 111 reviews)

  • "Upper management is totally disconnected from the reality(in 105 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I LOVE THIS PLACE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Mortgage Consultant in Glen Allen, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work hours for work/life balance; great pay; great people!!!

    Cons

    Systems a little slow but they are making every effort to make upgrades & make our work day as effecient as possible.

    Citizens Bank2019-12-05

    Citizens Bank Response

    December 10, 2019Project Manager

    And we love your review! Wow, thanks for such a warm and exciting post. We're glad to have an enthusiastic colleague like yourself on our team. Have a wonderful day!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Culture is Toxic in Enterprise Data Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Professional in Johnston, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart, supportive colleagues who still value humility, have integrity and do what’s right.

    Cons

    New management arrived and rules by fear. They want the “yes man” mentality. If you disagree, then they’ll stop talking to you or you’ll get “laid off”. People are afraid to speak and are dropping like flies. Those who are around are not motivated and are actively looking for another job. People leave the dept and are not replaced (existing staff have to pick up the slack). Zero work/life balance. CYA attitude.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-01-11

    Citizens Bank Response

    January 17, 2020Project Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that your time with us wasn’t what you hoped it to be. We take all concerns seriously and would like to better understand your perspective. Please consider contacting the HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call us anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 to share more information about what you experienced so that we can look into and address as appropriate.

    Continue reading
  3. "Branch manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outlet Supervisor in Chippewa, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent work hours & work life balance.

    Cons

    Unrealistic sales expectations. Recruitment department doesn’t present an accurate representation of job expectations and goals.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2020-01-09
  4. "It may be called a bank, but it’s really a tech company from an employee perspective."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Manager in Johnston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    “Tech environment” with agile pods becoming the norm Colleagues are empowered to try new things Flexible schedule including remote working possibilities allow for excellent work/life balance.

    Cons

    I’m pretty new and still enjoy that “new car smell,” and I’m sure I’ll find some things I don’t like eventually, but for now, all is good!

    Citizens Bank2019-12-02

    Citizens Bank Response

    December 10, 2019Project Manager

    Wow, what a thoughtful review! It's great you feel empowered in your role and are able to enjoy some flexible work options. We totally agree — working in Technology Services often feels more like a tech company than a bank, with our modern tech stack and Agile work environment. So great to hear you agree. Have a terrific day!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Relationship Banker in Dedham, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Licensing paid study time -Training and Shadowing -FINRA licenses paid for by company -Work/life balance -Career path options

    Cons

    -None thus far (4 months in)

    Citizens Bank2019-10-18

    Citizens Bank Response

    October 28, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for posting a review! So glad to hear you're excelling as an LRB. If you're still studying for your FINRA exams, best of luck and keep up the hard work! We hope the paid time at home is helping.

    Continue reading
  6. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Reporting Senior Analyst in Johnston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers are all so kind and caring, atmosphere is gorgeous, and the Bank is always doing the right thing!

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to work holidays, but the bank is very flexible with work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Citizens Bank2019-10-17

    Citizens Bank Response

    October 28, 2019Project Manager

    We have some big smiles on the other side of the keyboard at this review! We love that you love your job; it's so important to find a career that your passionate about. Keep up the great work!

    Continue reading
  7. "New to Citizens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analysis Manager in Johnston, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Outstanding facilities. Fantastic, flexible manager who understands work / life balance of a full time employee and active father.

    Cons

    Lacking in technology and systems.

    Citizens Bank2019-10-16

    Citizens Bank Response

    October 28, 2019Project Manager

    Thanks for sharing this thoughtful feedback! First off, welcome to Citizens. We're glad you're growing with us and experiencing a strong work-life balance — it's such an important piece of job happiness. Have a great day!

    Continue reading
  8. "Decent company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, 401k, PTO, work life balance

    Cons

    In order to make money better to be an external candidate

    Citizens Bank2019-10-28

    Citizens Bank Response

    November 4, 2019Project Manager

    Wow, 10 years! Thanks for over a decade of work with us, and for sharing your thoughts with us. Good luck in your next opportunity — we're rooting for you!

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Risk Management Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citizens Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Company is moving in a great direction -Great colleagues -Good work life balance

    Cons

    -Hard to discover opportunities within

    Citizens Bank2019-10-09

    Citizens Bank Response

    October 16, 2019Project Manager

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts! Happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We totally agree — the amazing colleagues and balance of work and life are two great things about Citizens. To encourage internal mobility for colleagues, we just launched a new, branded internal career site where colleagues can shop for jobs. Additionally, we just went live with Myca, the personalized career coach that helps colleagues identify new opportunities within the bank and ways to scale their skills to get where they want to be. We're sad to see you go, but good luck in your next endeavor!

    Continue reading
  10. "Sales Driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker 

    I have been working at Citizens Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, generous PTO, good hours

    Cons

    Too sales driven, goals are high and when you meet them it’s never enough

    Citizens Bank2019-10-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 193 reviews