Citizens Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Citizens CEO Bruce Van Saun
Bruce Van Saun
1,052 Ratings
Pros
  • "But they still try to respect your work life balance(in 136 reviews)

  • "They have a good benefits program(in 136 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Can be heavily focused on sales goals(in 122 reviews)

  • "Upper management not really making their minds up about what they want(in 114 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Citizens and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Never had a bad experience

      Aug 8, 2019 - Relationship Banker in Elizabethtown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary is twice what I was making at Santander , branch environment is awesome, some of my best friends are from work, management helps you grow within your career, incentive plan for bonus’s are easy to obtain, upper management knows you by name

      Cons

      Turnover, leaves branches always short staffed, seems like the training process is 6 months

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Citizens Response

      Project Manager

      Thanks for such a shining review! We're so happy to hear you are growing with us at Citizens Bank, and that you've become close to your team. Keep up the amazing work!

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good, not great

      Nov 29, 2020 - Branch Manager in Canton, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Upper management is friendly and cares. Work hours are great. Lots of great benefits

      Cons

      Pay raises are ridiculously low, technology needs lots of improvement, not a ton of structure or training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Citizens Response

      Thanks for over 5 years of service with us! We're glad to hear you're enjoying our flexible work hours and benefits. Did you know that between our Development Weeks and webinars, colleagues completed more than 432,000 hours of development in 2019! We also wanted to share that we've doubled our investment in technology and are on a journey to transform our tech across the company - for customers and colleagues.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a bad place to work at all

      Oct 25, 2020 - Licensed Banker in Phila, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -the training process really helped to get you a good foundation -upper management was great and very hands on -always offered regional fun quarterly activities to celebrate stuff

      Cons

      -Level of training and help from branch management varied. Some branches were great to work at others made you hate going to work everyday -the consistency of work environment and culture was different branch to branch

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Citizens Response

      Thanks for posting a review. We're happy you chose Citizens Bank to grow your career. Best of luck in your next opportunity — we're cheering for you!

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Dependent on your branch

      Jan 10, 2021 - Banker in Manchester, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -higher pay -good commission based on sales

      Cons

      -high sales goals -technology issues and lack of upper management support -experience entirely dependent on location

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Citizens Response

      Thanks for your review! We're looking to make our technology even better in early 2021 by making a massive investment in our digital capabilities as a bank, so stay tuned for improvements that create even better experiences for both customers and colleagues. We're lucky to have such an amazing colleague like yourself aboard. Keep up the great work!

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good people

      Nov 10, 2020 - Small Business Banker in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good branch management great coworkers

      Cons

      Horrible upper management and favorites.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Citizens Response

      Thanks for the review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Citizens. The people you work with make all the difference...and we have some amazing colleagues, if we do say so. Best of luck in your future endeavors.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Sales in a Slowly Dying Industry

      Aug 5, 2020 - Branch Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO + Vacation Work/Life Balance Decent place to work without requiring degree High Turnover creates quick path upward Typically fast pace if you are a good manager Opportunity to grow colleagues and coach 1 on 1

      Cons

      Customers given incentive to do all account openings online by the same company micro-managing your daily sales. Retail Banking slowly dying therefore pressure keeps mounting with less and less opportunity. High Turnover creates instability and burnout Very disorganized with new initiatives - Flavor of the Week Upper Management sometimes disconnect with what retail life really looks like Pulled in 100 different directions everyday

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Awful

      Nov 5, 2020 - Vice President 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits and pay are the only ones

      Cons

      The worst technology and upper management you will see anywhere. Systems straight from the 1980's which follows the overall feel of the bank. Awful remote desktop with issues every other day. 500mb mail box maximum. 3-4 major reorgs every year with people literally being treated as plugs. When you enter the cfg system they literally move you around wherever they want. No direction and forward thinking here. They are trying to bring in as many people from outside banks as they can because no one at CFG can actually think for themselves. No ownership of anything taken.

      3 people found this review helpful

      Citizens Response

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We're sorry to hear you are not enjoying your time with us. Know that we've doubled our investment in technology and are on a journey to transform our tech across the company. We encourage you to call Citizens’ HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call in anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 so that we can look into your concerns.

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sales Reporting is most important factor in this job

      Nov 13, 2020 - Licensed Banker in Portsmouth, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved the people I worked with in my branch

      Cons

      Upper management is disconnected and only reviewing sales reports

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Citizens Response

      Thanks for taking the time to post a review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the people you worked with, it really is such an important part of the job! A lot of research goes into the setting of sales goals and the majority of our colleagues achieve those goals. If you'd like to share your concerns more, we encourage you to call Citizens’ HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call in anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not the best place to work

      Oct 9, 2020 - Senior Banker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, Opportunities to grow, good training

      Cons

      Unless you are OK with harassing people with phone calls and sales, this is NOT the job for you. Upper Management breath down your neck all the time if you dont sell your soul. Branch located inside stores have long and late hours with no sundays off.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Citizens Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. This is certainly not the type of culture that we support. Please consider contacting the HR Service Center at 1-866-472-8234 or call us anonymously via Right Call at 1-877-495-4727 to share more information about what you experienced.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Solid company with opportunity to improve

      Dec 23, 2019 - Management 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They promote within when appropriate. They care about their colleagues and upper management is very visible and ready to help. They have great promotions and create an exciting environment to work in.

      Cons

      Way too focused on checking accounts. They are important but they make you feel like nothing matters if you don't hit your checking goal. They push it so much that most new accounts turnover quickly because they are not quality. Also, Instores should close just like the rest of the traditional branches and consolidate them..way too many branches, its inifficient. The general public does not need 7 day in person banking. It's almost 2020.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Citizens Response

      Project Manager

      Thanks for posting a review, and for your over 8 years with us! We appreciate the thoughtfulness of your feedback. Know that a ton of research goes into the setting of sales-related goals, like checking accounts. The majority of our colleagues achieve those goals. Additionally, we're actively preparing for the future of banking and adapting to customers' rapidly changing needs through our Branch Network Transformation initiative. Keep up the amazing work going into 2020 — we hope you had a lovely time during the holidays!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 136 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Citizens Job Seekers

    Licensed Relationship Banker
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Small Business Relationship Banker
    Learn About the Job
    Commercial Banker Development Program
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Citizens? Share Your Experiences

    or