Citrix Software Engineer II Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer II

Create your profile to get personalized information

Citrix Software Engineer II Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Citrix Chief Executive Officer David Henshall
David Henshall
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citrix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best collaborative environment to start the career

    Cons

    Nothing much I found in.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Citrix2018-11-22
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Stay away from this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer-II in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Citrix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free snacks at Raleigh office.

    Cons

    - Mediocre managers. Most of them are imported from India having no skills. They are just the cheap replacement of the managers who have left - No innovation at ShareFile office, as most of the PMs are from sales with no tech or entrepreneurial background - No promotion criteria, it totally depends on your manager

    Citrix2018-11-29
  3. "Best place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citrix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best work-life balance I've ever seen. You get to do what you want to do. Management is always open to new ideas.

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons.

    Citrix2016-09-22
  4. "Great Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer II in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citrix for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance here

    Cons

    Low pay but expected with great work life balance

    Citrix2016-08-12
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Had a chance to innovate until Elliot showed up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer II in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citrix for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, great benefits. This is probably the best place to work if you're a techie and live in south Florida. Not a lot of room to grow compared to most Silicon Valley companies of the same size or age but total comp and benefits is pretty good.

    Cons

    The company looked to be finally turning things around a bit until Elliot Management (an activist investor) came in to try to cook the books for a quick profit. It's very clear that other than the stuff they've made public they privately advised Citrix management to package the company for sale to someone like Google or Microsoft (probably the latter, given the installation of a recent MS exec as the new CEO). Unfortunately this isn't going to help anyone other than shareholders and executives who will get big buyout packages. I wouldn't recommend starting here now unless you're going into a position high enough to benefit from something like that.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I doubt there is really much anyone could say as this point. But it isn't too late to re-hire some of the R&D folks (I'm thinking of the Australian team) who were working on actual innovation. You can survive the rapid divestment of the non-Florida/India teams if you work to pull some smart folks into Florida and try to actually innovate again.

    Citrix2016-04-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place to be in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Citrix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work life balance Flexible work hours No pressure environment Very lenient work shifting policy. Managers usually allow you to work from home at least once a week

    Cons

    Product decisions move at a very slow pace At least 2-3 years late in catching up with market standards Strives to work like a start-up only to end up failing miserably Executive management lacks the charm and zeal to motivate or lead as role models Anti mobile-first strategy

    Citrix2016-03-12
  7. "Senior Software Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer II in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citrix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, work - life balance and great product. They have decent perks and good benefits. Flexible time.

    Cons

    Development is slow. Frequent layoffs. Career growth is slow.

    Citrix2016-01-28
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Software Engineer II 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citrix

    Pros

    Great work life balance, flexible hours .

    Cons

    Senior Management is not closely involved with the team

    Citrix2015-12-30
  9. "Simply the best experience I ever had with an employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer II in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Citrix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance, challenging projects, exciting peers to work with, great benefits, free drinks, high quality inexpensive meals, free training, time to work on personal projects, lots of safety nets and more.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of anything

    Citrix2014-03-21
  10. "Great work culture, Smart people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer II in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Citrix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome team Dynamics, Great work life balance Awesome team level management

    Cons

    Confused higher management. Deficient on vision.

    Advice to Management

    Have a vision and adhere to it. Too many u-turns waste a lot of resources and employee morale

    Citrix2013-08-29
Found 55 reviews