City Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

City Bank Reviews

Updated 26 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
City Bank CEO Cory Newsom (no image)
Cory Newsom
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They treat you as if you are family! There are several programs in place that go above and beyond a normal workplaces to show how much they are invested in their employees and their company. The Wellness program, referral program and fun employee events all topped with great benefits are just a few of the major highlights. They are invested in the community and encourage you to volunteer and give back. There are... many opportunities to volunteer on bank time and programs in place to allow employees to give back. I cannot say enough great things about this company and what they do to go above and beyond for their employees and the communities in which they serve!

    Show More

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    City Bank2018-12-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Cliquish management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice fellow employees in bank and branches.

    Cons

    Managements lack of trust in employees.

    Advice to Management

    Let people do their job without the micromanagement. If someone is incompetent let them go quit putting them in other departments.

    City Bank2019-08-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Backwards and a bit dishonest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits if you can stomach the huge deductible

    Cons

    Confusion and chaos. Too many people who try to run compliance and show to the point they don't get much done.

    Advice to Management

    The world does not want to live like you do in Lubbock

    City Bank2019-07-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Secular Mgt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Old style of Mgt

    Cons

    Loose management of style be Protap

    Advice to Management

    Change of management

    City Bank2019-03-22
  5. "Teller Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller Supervisor in Lubbock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wellness program, decent bonus if budget for year is met.

    Cons

    Nepotism. No room for advancement if you aren't related or know someone.

    City Bank2018-10-25
  6. "teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City Bank

    Pros

    great people. great experience. great company

    Cons

    I cant think of any.

    City Bank2018-01-16
  7. "Incompetent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
     in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at City Bank

    Pros

    None. Honestly there is nothing to say here

    Cons

    Incompetence. The company tends to overstaff teams with contractors to the extrnd that people do not have enough work to do. Then, the company sends out emails asking if anyone wants to take time off without pay.

    Advice to Management

    Have confidence in your teams

    City Bank2017-11-20
  8. "Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City Bank part-time

    Pros

    The people were very nice and helpful.

    Cons

    Sometimes the job was repetitive and boring.

    Advice to Management

    You guys are doing a great job.

    City Bank2017-10-11
  9. "Fantastic culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Marketing in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay! Great people! It's just a great environment to be in. There's a reason it's a "Best Bank to Work For."

    Cons

    None really anything to report from my experience. I haven't found anything over the years that I would find a negative.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    City Bank2017-06-28
  10. "Great Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Bank full-time

    Pros

    City Bank is a great place to work. There are lots of opportunities for employees to grow. In my opinion, City Bank practices what they preach from all levels of the company.

    Cons

    None at this time.

    City Bank2017-06-28
Found 27 reviews