City Barbeque Reviews | Glassdoor

City Barbeque Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
City Barbeque President and COO  Mike Muldoon
Mike Muldoon
3 Ratings
  1. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Crew Member 

    I worked at City Barbeque full-time

    Pros

    great managers, decent pay

    Cons

    a lot of employee turn over

    City Barbeque2019-10-21
  2. "Great Culture & Caring People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City Barbeque full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture is better than most "chain" places. The owner and most of the leadership team really do care about the employees and want it to be a great place to work. Pay is on par with other similar jobs/companies. Food is delicious and you get free/discounted meals as an employee. They put guests first and always work to improve the guest experience. The owners of the company are kind-hearted people who do a lot for their communities.

    Cons

    Workload can be overbearing at times. Company has/is growing fast, so there are a lot of organizational processes and communication issues that need to be improved. Being the service industry, there is a lot of gossip and word always travels fast - some leadership and management could be better at being discrete/trustworthy.

    City Barbeque2020-02-18
  3. "Forced Out by Bottom Line Mentality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Catering Management in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City Barbeque full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Commitment to food quality and authenticity. Lucky to have some wonderful people to keep it going.

    Cons

    Decline in culture and heavy focus on the bottom line without regard to the hard working people. High turn over and minimal recognition.

    Continue reading
    City Barbeque2020-02-25
  4. "Former AGM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City Barbeque full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff and Customers were both great.

    Cons

    Hard physically demanding work environment. While they take care of the hourly employees and customers, salaried managers get run into the ground.

    Continue reading
    City Barbeque2020-01-07
  5. "Regional Marketing Manager of City BBQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City Barbeque full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I absolutely loved this company and everyone who worked there. I made lifelong friends here and developed professional and unique experience that has helped me find a job after leaving.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons besides you work a lot! Which is normal for the food industry. I also wish I made a little more money, but I was straight out of college.

    City Barbeque2019-10-15
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - pits in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Barbeque full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great starting pay, excellent and supportive management, great atmosphere and good for learning new skills

    Cons

    There's never any leftover ribs, haha!

    City Barbeque2019-10-03
  7. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City Barbeque full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, room to grow and move up, family environment, yearly raises, good pay and benefits. They are willing to train and invest in you.

    Cons

    I have no complaints here.

    City Barbeque2019-08-16
  8. "Nice but limited"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City Barbeque part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They care about their employees. Great food. Great Training. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    You must really enjoy working in a food environment. Not much upward mobility into management levels. Pay is just a few dollars more than minimum wage. Not enough pay to cover a mortgage, expenses and a family. A lot of the managers I met had to work 14 hour days. Where is the time for family with that kind of schedule?

    Continue reading
    City Barbeque2019-07-16
  9. "Do not apply for the food prep position!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Cook in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City Barbeque full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, good pay for entry level food job.

    Cons

    To high of expectations for a single Food Preparation.

    Continue reading
    City Barbeque2019-06-25
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Barbeque full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Super friendly environment. It can be your home away from home. Would recommend to people who are in college looking for a good paying job.

    Cons

    Fast paced working environment.

    Continue reading
    City Barbeque2019-05-23
Found 48 reviews