City Electric Supply Reviews | Glassdoor

City Electric Supply Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
City Electric Supply CEO Thomas Hartland-Mackie (no image)
Thomas Hartland-Mackie
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "I get frustrated when I hear that people resigning because they've "been here a year and not been promoted" Hard work(in 13 reviews)

  • "Family owned, growing, no glass ceilings, promotes from within, bonus structures, you make what you want out of this company(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management also seems to ignore and condone this behavior(in 8 reviews)

  • "I see no cons so far in the process of onboarding(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Electric Supply full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The opportunity to grow in the company

    Cons

    So far no complaints at all

    City Electric Supply2020-01-23
  2. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Electric Supply full-time

    Pros

    The company truly cares for its employees and customers

    Cons

    None so far so good

    Advice to Management

    Keep being open and personable

    City Electric Supply2020-01-23
  3. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City Electric Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Normal 8-5, 7-4 work schedule. Decent pay. Usually good people to work with.

    Cons

    Big learning curve if you know nothing about electrical.

    City Electric Supply2020-01-06
  4. "Store assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Store Associate 

    I have been working at City Electric Supply full-time

    Pros

    Great pay Good and stable work

    Cons

    Only three sick days a year

    City Electric Supply2019-12-19
  5. "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City Electric Supply full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Opportunity to gain knowledge of products • Opportunity to assist walk-in customers • Opportunity to advance • Good pay

    Cons

    Unfortunate for me, I was let go, due to circumstances beyond my control. However, I would not hesitate to rejoin their team.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    City Electric Supply2019-10-25
  6. "A lot of work for little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse/Counter 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City Electric Supply full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning the product, interactions with customers, hours of operation

    Cons

    Hard work without being recognized. The sales team gets all of the credit without having to break a sweat

    Advice to Management

    Don't rely heavily on the people who actually work hard, hold other team members accountable. Don't let other team members do nothing while everyone else works their butts off

    City Electric Supply2019-11-05
  7. "CES Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Meeting and Events Coordinator in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Electric Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment Supportive teams Room to grow

    Cons

    I don’t have any that come to mind

    City Electric Supply2019-10-08
  8. "Growing Company with a Bright Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Electric Supply full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A maturing company that is growing at a stable rate and in an organic way. Has clearly learned from its past and takes those lessons personally. Provides paths for advancement in traditional branch, retail and sales environments, with some developing options in the support departments. Has a strong eye on the future with an experienced ear on the present and a humble mind in the past.

    Cons

    Often looses site of the critical roles the supporting departments play, at all levels of employment. More defined paths for training and advancement in personal careers should be considered. Additionally, more inclusion of those same personnel and departments in company events could make them feel less “departmental” and more corporate, and thus, included, and not an afterthought.

    Advice to Management

    Maintain your cautious and optimistic approach to expansion and growth. Don’t shy from opinions from those without managerial titles. Consider events with only junior staff, allowing them to gain insight and confidence in the company, it’s leadership and its path forward that they might otherwise have been ignorant to.

    City Electric Supply2019-10-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "At one time was a Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City Electric Supply full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you work "Very Hard" you can be monetarily rewarded. Learned a whole bunch over my career.

    Cons

    Distric Managers unqualified to manage personnel, many are morally and ethically corrupt. Too many lies over the years. General Managers out of touch with the reality of day to day Branch operations, forgot where they came from. Corporate overheads keep going up, puts more pressure on Branch level employees to "perform better", District Managers make threats of job termination when performance drops even a little. They don't care if you made them $300K in profit the previous year and great net GP for many years , just care about what you are doing for them now.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to pay attention to what your DM's and GM,s are doing in thier regions. You are loosing many great long time employees due to undue pressure and outright lies comping from them. Some of this may be growth pains but it is sad to see what is going on in the area where I worked for well over 20 years.

    City Electric Supply2019-10-14
  10. "Best company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Communications Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Electric Supply full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The family feel environment. The communication in my department. The company wants you to excel and provides ample opportunities too.

    Cons

    I don’t have any.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    City Electric Supply2019-09-26
Found 194 reviews