City Furniture Reviews | Glassdoor

City Furniture Reviews

Updated June 5, 2018
145 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
City Furniture President and CEO Keith Koenig
Keith Koenig
106 Ratings

145 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The he company is family oriented, and managment is always trying to get you more involved in how things work and incentive suggestions" (in 13 reviews)

  • "Earning potential is unlimited, and it is a great company to get your foot in the door professionally" (in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Boca Raton, FL
    Current Employee - Driver in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City Furniture part-time

    Pros

    one of the best reasons to work there would be to start the jobs in this function and then grow in other areas within the company and get know how

    Cons

    I can't see right now the downsides

    Advice to Management

    it is a pleasure to be a part of this.

    City Furniture Response

    Apr 30, 2018 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for submitting a review. We believe we have the best delivery team in the furniture industry and it is because of Associates like you. We are glad you are enjoying working with us and look... More


  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tamarac, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tamarac, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Furniture full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I enjoy working with my management team. I love the support that I receive from my superiors.

    Cons

    As soon as I think of one, I'll let you know.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    City Furniture Response

    May 1, 2018 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We take pride on having a great group of servant leaders that support their Associates. We appreciate the feedback and we are glad you are enjoying your... More

  3. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City Furniture part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours . And a flexible independent working environment

    Cons

    Customers and employees are annoying. Don’t pick up there calls


  4. "Dissapointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Sunrise, FL
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Sunrise, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City Furniture full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Floor Traffic, Most people were very nice.

    Cons

    Sales training greatly lacking. Talking about sales techniques or even being a individual is frowned upon. Follow the script and rehearse the cult I mean company policy with out thinking for yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Narrow minded and tunnel vision.
    Sales scripts are for order takers. The best sales people are not coming from college.

    The best sales people are people who have endured hardship have character and know how to overcome. Give me hungry and ambitious any day. That doesn't mean aggressive and dishonest.

    Not college kids looking for their first job. ( I get why you do it)

    I have 20 years of furniture experience in sales and management. You can't train young people to be sales people with 3 steps.

    What you basically have is great foot traffic selling cheap merchandise. (why do you think your customer care department is so big and riddled with turnover) .

    The showroom I worked for a brief time I was there watched sales go out the door. No objections were talked about or overcome. Example: I need to think about it ... All I saw was ok and the sales person jumped back into line repeated the 3 steps.

    That is a numbers game. Not achieving what it really could achieve. There is zero sales training. I could literally bring sales up in that showroom by 20% if not more by what
    I saw.


  5. "Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tamarac, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tamarac, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Furniture full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Earning potential is unlimited, and it is a great company to get your foot in the door professionally

    Cons

    They are expanding and growing, therefore any complaints I could have are things every company goes through during this trial and error period.

    Advice to Management

    Not towards management, my opinion is generalized among the pay grade and sales process. I wish that managers had a fair fixed salary income with bonus potential instead of basically competing with sales associates on the floor when our pay checks are solely on commission.

    City Furniture Response

    Apr 30, 2018 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. We are excited about our expansion plans and appreciate the involvement and support of all of our Associates. We are always looking for ways to improve... More


  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at City Furniture full-time

    Pros

    great culture, great employees, perks

    Cons

    long work hours, career growth

    City Furniture Response

    Apr 30, 2018 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for the review. We are happy to know you are enjoying the benefits we offer to all our Associates. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.


  7. "Sales rep."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Boca Raton, FL
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Furniture full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have always loved working with City furniture. We are like family and always a learning experience.

    Cons

    They hire too many young people without experience.

    City Furniture Response

    Mar 30, 2018 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to create a fun and exciting environment while maintaining our family spirit. People like you is what make our... More

  8. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Hialeah, FL
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Hialeah, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City Furniture full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    401k, paid vacation, insurance, good pay

    Cons

    schedule, management team to self oriented

    Advice to Management

    be more team oriented

    City Furniture Response

    Mar 9, 2018 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for the review. We are happy to know you are enjoying the benefits we offer to all our Associates. We are always looking for ways to improve and your feedback is greatly appreciated.


  9. "Boring and Intimidating environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City Furniture full-time

    Pros

    No pros at this moment

    Cons

    Leaders and supervisors all play fake nice. They smile on the floor but would not throw water on you if you were on fire anywhere else. A lot of gossiping on floor between an elite group or clique. The environment is intimidating God forbid you try to get up and grab anyone’s attention while calls are holding they just want you to stay active and answer the phones even if you don’t understand or don’t know how to help the customer.

    Advice to Management

    Only a hand few of the reps I’ve talked to have been there for more than a year which made me nervous regarding job stability


  10. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City Furniture part-time

    Pros

    Incredible company to work with, very family oriented

    Cons

    Tenure and advancement takes time

    City Furniture Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed working with us and wish you the best on your future endeavors.


Showing 145 of 153 reviews
Reset Filters