City National Bank Vice President - Technology Reviews | Glassdoor

City National Bank Reviews

Updated Apr 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
City National Bank CEO Kelly Coffey
Kelly Coffey
23 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Growing fast with lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are smart, care about the big picture, collaborative, kind and reasonable. Significant variety in the work and great opportunities for employees who are proactive, positive and want to make City National even better than it is today.

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons. Will say that the growth and change that the bank is experiencing can require a deep breath now and then, a ton of proactive collaboration and patience with each other. But there is so much good work happening that any discomfort is outweighed by excitement and momentum.

    City National Bank2019-10-01

    City National Bank Response

    November 8, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you so much. It IS an exciting time at the bank. We're glad that you're having a great experience. Thank you for everything you do to contribute to the growth and success of the bank. Keep the ideas and momentum going. Laura Lallone VP, HR Communications

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Company with potential for expansion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialty Banking Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, ability to move up in the company.

    Cons

    Absolutely none that I can think of

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2020-04-06
  3. "I Love CNB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Beverly Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, excellent Sr Leadership, great benefits.

    Cons

    Always looks to the outside for mgmt positions.

    City National Bank2020-04-05
  4. "New Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior DevOps Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    What impressed me the most about the new direction of CNB was their willingness to cut the fat at the executive level while at the same time staying committed to retraining their existing employees.

    Cons

    Tons of tech debt but overall a willingness to change the way things are done offsets this.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2020-04-02
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salesforce in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, bonus and 401 K

    Cons

    I Don’t see any cons in the company

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2020-03-05
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balancing , good bank to work for in L.A

    Cons

    Lack of training , conferences , career advancement

    City National Bank2020-02-16

    City National Bank Response

    March 11, 2020City National Bank

    Thanks so much for your feedback. The bank works hard at creating opportunities for teams and individual colleagues to balance work with the rest of their lives. Regarding career and training, City National takes the approach that, ultimately, all colleagues own their careers and development, with support and guidance from the bank. I highly encourage you to have a conversation with your leadership team about your ambitions and career direction. Come prepared with ideas of how you can use your talents and skills in a bigger way on your team or in other areas of the bank. Take full advantage of City National University and the Career Development Center, both found in the Learning & Development section of our intranet, as well as programs such as the City National Mentor Program, our Colleague Resource Groups and other programs that help you connect with other colleagues in different areas across the bank. As the company expands, now is a great time to speak up about where you want to take your career. Stephen Spencer SVP, Learning & Development

    Continue reading
  7. "Sr. Loan Documentation Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Commercial Loan Documentation 

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great company with great benefits.

    Cons

    I have no cons for this company.

    City National Bank2020-02-12
  8. "Good Interview Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Human Resources Business Partner in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    professional environment with good benefits

    Cons

    Sometimes communication can fall short and it is hard to tell where the goals and focus align.

    City National Bank2020-02-05

    City National Bank Response

    March 10, 2020City National Bank

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are proud of our professional and compassionate culture and the benefits that we are able to provide to colleagues. Communication is an area of great focus--this year we put into place some new practices to keep colleagues informed about the big picture and focused on goals. Of course, there is always more work to do as communicating across divisions in all dimensions is an ongoing challenge when everyone is moving so quickly on their individual, team and division goals. Your feedback is well taken and appreciated. All the best to you and thank you for your many years of service while at City National Bank. Laura Lallone VP, HR Communications

    Continue reading
  9. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Caring community, smart people, nice perks

    Cons

    Long hours, old systems, unorganized

    City National Bank2020-02-18

    City National Bank Response

    March 10, 2020City National Bank

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. You're right--City National does have an amazingly caring and smart community of colleagues. Please don't be shy about sharing your ideas for how to streamline operations, create efficiencies and more organized processes. Your point of view is important as we grow. Laura Lallone VP, HR Communications

    Continue reading
  10. "Company pays well but there is no stability."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investor Reporting Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, hours, flexibility, work from home sometimes

    Cons

    No work, not stable, training is horrible

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2020-02-13

    City National Bank Response

    March 10, 2020City National Bank

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that you did not have a great experience during your time here. We take pride in the stability of City National Bank—although you are no longer at the bank, I would really like to hear more about the experience you had within your department. If you’re open to it, please reach out to me at (213) 673-9290. Tracy Curry SVP, HR Business Partner Manager

    Continue reading
Found 294 reviews