City National Bank Vice President Reviews | Glassdoor

City National Bank Vice President Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
City National Bank CEO Kelly Coffey
Kelly Coffey
5 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Growing fast with lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are smart, care about the big picture, collaborative, kind and reasonable. Significant variety in the work and great opportunities for employees who are proactive, positive and want to make City National even better than it is today.

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons. Will say that the growth and change that the bank is experiencing can require a deep breath now and then, a ton of proactive collaboration and patience with each other. But there is so much good work happening that any discomfort is outweighed by excitement and momentum.

    City National Bank2019-10-01

    City National Bank Response

    November 8, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you so much. It IS an exciting time at the bank. We're glad that you're having a great experience. Thank you for everything you do to contribute to the growth and success of the bank. Keep the ideas and momentum going. Laura Lallone VP, HR Communications

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It's a different company than it was a year ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President - Technology in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good work-life balance. Opportunity to work with good technology. Amazing views from the office Decent pay. Good job titles.

    Cons

    Lots of slow-moving bureaucracy if you want to get things done and shine.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2019-09-25

    City National Bank Response

    November 25, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for the feedback. City National is always looking at ways to make the company an even better place to work, so I appreciate your candor and feedback. On a regular basis, we do formal competitive reviews to make sure our compensation programs (base salary, bonus and stock) are in alignment, and address any gaps as needed. Long-term incentives (stock awards) are not tied to title; eligibility is based on competitive market practice and CNB salary grade. We also have programs that extend one-time discretionary stock awards in recognition for colleagues who have achieved exceptional performance during the year. Regarding the timing of bonuses, most companies have moved away from quarterly or mid-year payouts, as it’s very short-term focused. City National’s annual bonus is based not only on colleague performance, but also overall company performance—as is our profit sharing program. Please feel free to reach out to me if you have additional questions related to compensation. Linda Smith SVP, Compensation – Human Resources Division

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balancing , good bank to work for in L.A

    Cons

    Lack of training , conferences , career advancement

    City National Bank2020-02-16

    City National Bank Response

    March 11, 2020City National Bank

    Thanks so much for your feedback. The bank works hard at creating opportunities for teams and individual colleagues to balance work with the rest of their lives. Regarding career and training, City National takes the approach that, ultimately, all colleagues own their careers and development, with support and guidance from the bank. I highly encourage you to have a conversation with your leadership team about your ambitions and career direction. Come prepared with ideas of how you can use your talents and skills in a bigger way on your team or in other areas of the bank. Take full advantage of City National University and the Career Development Center, both found in the Learning & Development section of our intranet, as well as programs such as the City National Mentor Program, our Colleague Resource Groups and other programs that help you connect with other colleagues in different areas across the bank. As the company expands, now is a great time to speak up about where you want to take your career. Stephen Spencer SVP, Learning & Development

    Continue reading
  4. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company is focused on its employees as well as its clients.

    Cons

    We're still adjusting to the era of the shrinking personal workspace, but at least we haven't gone to hot-desking.

    City National Bank2019-08-22
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Bad for managers, good for bad employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President, Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at City National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Profit sharing and welcome basket

    Cons

    HR and Senior Management are afraid to fire people even if the issues are well documented. Keeping in mind, all prior issues were signed off on by HR and Senior Management. This bank will give first and second and third final written warnings rather than fire someone. You read that right, they give multiple final warnings. They will even try to pay off people who are on final written warnings rather than fire them.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2019-08-25

    City National Bank Response

    September 3, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for posting your thoughts. While you are no longer with us, we very much welcome the feedback. If you are open to it, I’d like to hear more about your experience. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at (213) 673-9150. I’m sorry that your time at City National didn’t end in a positive way. Thank you for the contributions you made while you were here. Martha Tuma EVP, Chief HR Officer

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Don't buy the hype."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most employees work in DTLA. Owned by RBC, an ethnical, progressive company that hopefully will positively influance CNB.

    Cons

    Top down management for so many years has rendered executive and departmental leadership inept. CNB always sides with management most of whom were average bankers and lack vision, ethics and courage. The new CEO faces a hugh challenge to operate with the several generations old technology, systems and policies. The majority of executive management has a foot out the door.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2019-06-24

    City National Bank Response

    August 26, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your candid feedback. We rely on colleague input to make City National an even better place to work and do business; in fact, we recently launched a new program for colleagues to share their thoughts directly with our new CEO, Kelly Coffey. As is true for all organizations, there are areas we need to work on, but we believe that we’re making progress in the areas core to our business and culture. Thank you for your contributions during your tenure at the bank. I wish you well in whatever is next. Laura Lallone, VP, HR Communications Program Manager

    Continue reading
  7. "The company was good but not any more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people if you work at a mature team

    Cons

    Many things have been changed but no one knows what it is

    City National Bank2019-04-10

    City National Bank Response

    April 26, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience working at City National. From daily articles and newsletters to quarterly CEO updates and videos, keeping colleagues informed and guarding our culture have always been a top priority at the bank. If you have a suggestion for how we can improve communications, I’d love to chat. Laura Lallone VP, HR Communications laura.lallone@cnb.com

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Associate VP Business & Technology Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President Business and Technology Services in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    When a company has employees with 20, 30, and 40 years of seniority, something must right must be going on in that organization. This is the case of City National Bank! There’s room to grow if you have the drive and passion to excel.

    Cons

    The bank is a bit behind in certain technologies. Just 4 months ago, the bank moved from a 10 year old ticketing system to a more advanced and efficient platform.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2018-06-08

    City National Bank Response

    June 19, 2018

    Welcome to City National! Thank you for taking time to post your comments. We hear you—hiring colleagues with a leadership mentality is so important, regardless of the position’s title or level. That “roll up the sleeves” attitude is especially needed as our goals and aspirations expand across the bank. A big part of our growth certainly is centered around technology, both colleague-facing and client-facing. It’s an exciting and busy time. Don’t be shy about sharing your ideas. Olga Krasovski SVP, Business & Technology Services

    Continue reading
  9. "Company Overview Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President - Technology in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance, Friendly Colleagues

    Cons

    Not much growth, benefits are average

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2017-12-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting and challenging work; entrepreneurship and creativity valued; good working relationships and camaraderie with your peers; profit sharing

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities or empty offices in the C-Suite or at the very top of the organization

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2017-09-05

    City National Bank Response

    September 15, 2017HR Communications Program Manager

    Thanks for your great feedback and for the contributions you’ve made in your 10 years at CNB. Your “pros” speak perfectly to the culture that we are so focused on maintaining as we expand. You also raise some important points about creating new opportunities for leaders. If you have specific ideas, please give your HR Business Partner a call. Hearing your insights directly will be really valuable. - Mike Kilroy, SVP, HR Business Partner Manager

    Continue reading
Found 38 reviews