City National Bank "cnb" Reviews | Glassdoor

City National Bank Employee Reviews about "cnb"

Updated Nov 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
City National Bank CEO Kelly Coffey
Kelly Coffey
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is great, virtually no need for overtime unless it gets super busy(in 28 reviews)

  • "CNB is the best place I ever worked(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Other than traffic in the DTLA area; but there is nothing CNB can do about that one(in 13 reviews)

  • "Since being purchased by RBC the focus has changed from business banking to consumer(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cnb"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great summer environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank

    Pros

    Monthly professional development days with fellow interns, overall the CNB culture is great and friendly (both within the office and intern program), standard work hours 8-5, you learn something new everyday! Bosses are very understanding if you may not know something. Better than your average pay for a summer internship!

    Cons

    Some days might get a little slow/boring when team has a tight deadline, but everyone is still willingly to let you know about the future of the project.

    City National Bank2018-12-05

    City National Bank Response

    June 3, 2019City National Bank

    Excellent! Thank you for sharing your feedback here and for being part of our team. I’m so glad that you had a great experience. Please keep in touch with Talent Acquisition and your former team for opportunities in the future! Arahi De La Toba Associate Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Continue reading
  2. "Do not contract for this company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    I like the modern look that the 2CAL building has. Very welcoming staff. Co-Workers are very pleasant. It's a good location, easy to commute to, and access to a wide-variety of venues for lunch.

    Cons

    Contractors are treated like garbage at the company. Excluded from events, reminded constantly that they're not part of the CNB Family, etc. The worst is that when budgets come around, contractors were let go with little notice. Some of the contractors were better performing than full time employees with stellar numbers. What's even worse is that these contractors were told that they were negotiating things and may be brought back on, only to have their positions offered to newer (most likely cheaper) contractors. If you contract through this company, be aware. They don't care about you. The'll make it very clear, very quickly.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2019-11-05

    City National Bank Response

    November 8, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for your feedback. I%E2%80%99m really sorry that you didn%E2%80%99t have a better experience. If you%E2%80%99re open to it, I encourage you to give specific feedback to your employer (staffing agency) so they can pass it along to the appropriate management team. Cathy WooSVP, Business & Technology Services

    Continue reading
  3. "Fantastic & Underrated Internship Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Specialty Banking Summer Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank for less than a year

    Pros

    - The Specialty Banking Group is INCREDIBLY welcoming (as well as every colleague I met across numerous divisions) and helpful - Intern events included Lunch & Learns with 20+ EVPs in the bank, networking happy hours, and team building exercises (like escape rooms) - Kelly Coffey, the [new] CEO, came and spoke with our intern class for 45 minutes (she was only scheduled to talk for 10) - Great credit training program and support; I came in knowing absolutely nothing about credit and am walking away with a much better understanding - The company is growing at a rapid pace - there are so many phenomenal opportunities to take advantage of - CNB is the "Bank of the Stars" and is the leader in the entertainment world which is INCREDIBLY cool

    Cons

    - They are behind technology wise (but are striving to catch up) - They're a mid-size bank and don't necessarily offer the same things as a JPM or BoA (not necessarily a con, but for some folks it may be) - Many analysts are leaving the bank after spending 2 years gaining credit training, leaving for opportunities with higher pay, more responsibility, etc. - Not a lot of lateral movement

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2019-08-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Relationshhip Manager in Sherman Oaks, CA

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was a long time employee of CNB, and I enjoyed my time with the company. The key to success is developing an honest, straightforward relationship with the Loan Center. This is critical; if the lenders at the City Loan Center believe you are trying to push a bad deal through to hit your goal, you will get nowhere. Be honest

    Cons

    Since being purchased by RBC the focus has changed from business banking to consumer.

    City National Bank2019-07-01

    City National Bank Response

    September 17, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for sharing your experience on Glassdoor and for your many years of service. Long-term colleagues such as yourself are one of the reasons why City National has such a solid reputation. While we have definitely expanded and added to our consumer lending (and many other) capabilities in recent years, our overall focus has remained consistent, geared towards providing a complete set of business and personal financial solutions to entrepreneurs, professionals, their businesses and their families. Thanks again. We wish you all the best in whatever is next for you. Shannon Whitmore SVP, Colleague Performance & Training Manager

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Don't buy the hype."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most employees work in DTLA. Owned by RBC, an ethnical, progressive company that hopefully will positively influance CNB.

    Cons

    Top down management for so many years has rendered executive and departmental leadership inept. CNB always sides with management most of whom were average bankers and lack vision, ethics and courage. The new CEO faces a hugh challenge to operate with the several generations old technology, systems and policies. The majority of executive management has a foot out the door.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2019-06-24

    City National Bank Response

    August 26, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your candid feedback. We rely on colleague input to make City National an even better place to work and do business; in fact, we recently launched a new program for colleagues to share their thoughts directly with our new CEO, Kelly Coffey. As is true for all organizations, there are areas we need to work on, but we believe that we’re making progress in the areas core to our business and culture. Thank you for your contributions during your tenure at the bank. I wish you well in whatever is next. Laura Lallone, VP, HR Communications Program Manager

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company but stuck in the old world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company culture. Amazing benefits. Great people to work with. So much community involvement. It’s honorable. CNB is the best place I ever worked.

    Cons

    There is no room to grow and it’ll be very hard if you’re ambitious. You’ll work very hard and won’t be recognized or promoted. The company also doesn’t have a work from home policy, which makes commuting from all over Southern California to dtla very difficult and a kill overtime. I ultimately left for those two reasons, which was very sad considering how much I loved it there.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2019-02-02

    City National Bank Response

    February 11, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for your service at the bank. I agree—the culture makes City National a great place to work. City National is highly supportive of professional growth and development to ensure all colleagues can reach their highest potential. We encourage colleagues to speak up when they are ready to grow into a different role or take on a new challenge. I’m sorry if your experience was different. I also understand that commuting can be difficult, especially in Los Angeles. The bank doesn’t have a formal policy, but we do have an informal work-from-home philosophy and practice. This approach actually gives managers more flexibility and discretion so they can balance the business needs with their individual colleagues’ needs. Thanks again for your thoughts. All the best in whatever is next for you. Mike Kilroy SVP, HR Business Partner Manager

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great company one terrible manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for with good affordable benefits and above average pay. Good identity that is evolving and getting better. CNB has a great reputation amongst the business community but technology needs to be improved. I would have stayed longer to retire from CNB if it wasn’t for 1 terrible regional manager.

    Cons

    Regional manager is forcing out smart, dedicated and hard working employees who have been at CNB longer. Employees should respect their manager not fear them. Turnover is a big problem and the root cause is known but things have not changed. Trying to build a Wells Fargo culture at CNB is toxic and will only lead to lower morale. This is a great company but one person ruined it for me and a lot of my former colleagues.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2018-11-11

    City National Bank Response

    November 20, 2018City National Bank

    Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. I agree--City National is a great place to work. We are proud to offer competitive pay and benefits, opportunities to grow, get involved and give back, and a strong reputation of doing the right thing for clients, colleagues and communities. I'm sorry to hear that your experience on your team wasn't positive. The company was built on the value of relationships and we all work hard to maintain and grow this culture of respect. I would appreciate if you contacted me directly so we can discuss your experience in detail. Thanks again. Mike Kilroy, SVP, HR Business Partner Manager michael.kilroy@cnb.com

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great People and Great Environment (No Really It Is!)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time

    Pros

    CNB has an amazing culture and fun that I have not had anywhere else. I know people think that a bank has to be an uptight place but this is simply not true. People here have fun but also have a super high level of professionalism, I think it may be because everyone here really is a self-starter and loves what they do. The benefits are great, the organization treats people well and there is a lot of opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Getting to Downtown LA in traffic can be a headache. As an example driving in the outside lane and jumping into the exit at the last min to avoid waiting in line does not make you smart, it makes you an ^$@^%$ (I mean you BMW driver)

    City National Bank2018-06-04

    City National Bank Response

    June 18, 2018City National Bank

    Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts! The combination of strong values and entrepreneurship definitely make City National a different kind of bank and a fun place to work. The passion is contagious so thanks for sharing and keep doing what you're doing to bring the energy to your work and your team. (LA traffic. It can be rough. I abandoned the freeways and now take surface streets through Griffith Park, listening to an audio book the whole way. The extra 7 minutes are worth it on most days.) Thanks again for posting! Keep the feedback coming. Laura Lallone VP, HR Communications Program Manager

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I've had a very good experience with CNB. The work is interesting and I have a fair amount of latitude about how I get the job done.

    Cons

    I'm having a difficult time thinking of the downside to working here. Managers have been fair and the work environment is very nice.

    City National Bank2018-05-29

    City National Bank Response

    June 18, 2018City National Bank

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. It's especially great to see posts from colleagues who have been with the bank for more than 10 years. Your description of City National's "fair management, interesting work and a good amount of latitude" says a lot about our culture and our values of Relationships and Entrepreneurship. Thanks for posting and thanks for all that you do to make City National a great place to work. Laura Lallone VP, HR Communications Program Manager

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Great Bank but losing it’s identity fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employees, for the most part. Great reputation with commercial, private banking and entertainment industries. Decent benefits platform, growing quickly which means more open positions.

    Cons

    Company merged with large Canadian bank (RBC) in 2015 and lots of key management that helped create their stellar reputation and culture has left or will be retiring in a year or so. CNB is quickly losing it’s original DNA in many divisions/departments due to mass hiring of new managers (with a big bank retail mindset) which has caused key, established, employees to move on. There are only a handful of departments left that still have the “CNB” feel. To be honest, it’s too early to tell if this is a “Con” but it has definitely caused a high turnover in employees which means a new feel/culture is emerging. If you’re into the culture of banks like BofA, Wells Fargo and Chase then this might be a good fit for someone because that seems to be the trend they going to

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2018-02-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 32 reviews