City National Bank "rbc" Reviews | Glassdoor

City National Bank Employee Reviews about "rbc"

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
City National Bank CEO Kelly Coffey
Kelly Coffey
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is great, virtually no need for overtime unless it gets super busy(in 28 reviews)

  • "CNB is the best place I ever worked(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Other than traffic in the DTLA area; but there is nothing CNB can do about that one(in 13 reviews)

  • "Since being purchased by RBC the focus has changed from business banking to consumer(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "rbc"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company, great work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rapidly growing after RBC acquisition, strong bank in Los Angeles, managers care about your career growth, lots of growth opportunities within many different divisions in the bank. Work life balance is great, virtually no need for overtime unless it gets super busy.

    Cons

    Credit Analyst work involves lots of spreading, after a while it can get repetitive so it's up to you to pursue the next step

    City National Bank2019-01-25

    City National Bank Response

    April 18, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review! We are fortunate to have colleagues who are passionate about the bank and our culture. I fully agree with your comment “…it’s up to you to pursue the next step.” Our career development philosophy is that colleagues own their own development path. But, while you’re in the driver’s seat, you aren’t alone. You should create a development plan, set up a meeting with your supervisor and share your plan. Come with ideas about how to achieve your career aspirations or how to learn more about your current role. Think about ways you can contribute to the success of your division and the bank. That’s a great place to start the conversation to find new challenges and ways to get you to the next step. The colleague development process is outlined on our intranet (Infolink); I also encourage you to reach out to your HR Business Partner to discuss all of this further. Mike Kilroy SVP, HR Business Partner Manager

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Good—but it is changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, offices, benefits. Some flextime.

    Cons

    Layoffs and reclassifications have begun. Now that RBC is more fully in control, we expect more employee “impact”

    City National Bank2019-09-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Relationshhip Manager in Sherman Oaks, CA

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was a long time employee of CNB, and I enjoyed my time with the company. The key to success is developing an honest, straightforward relationship with the Loan Center. This is critical; if the lenders at the City Loan Center believe you are trying to push a bad deal through to hit your goal, you will get nowhere. Be honest

    Cons

    Since being purchased by RBC the focus has changed from business banking to consumer.

    City National Bank2019-07-01

    City National Bank Response

    September 17, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for sharing your experience on Glassdoor and for your many years of service. Long-term colleagues such as yourself are one of the reasons why City National has such a solid reputation. While we have definitely expanded and added to our consumer lending (and many other) capabilities in recent years, our overall focus has remained consistent, geared towards providing a complete set of business and personal financial solutions to entrepreneurs, professionals, their businesses and their families. Thanks again. We wish you all the best in whatever is next for you. Shannon Whitmore SVP, Colleague Performance & Training Manager

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Don't buy the hype."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most employees work in DTLA. Owned by RBC, an ethnical, progressive company that hopefully will positively influance CNB.

    Cons

    Top down management for so many years has rendered executive and departmental leadership inept. CNB always sides with management most of whom were average bankers and lack vision, ethics and courage. The new CEO faces a hugh challenge to operate with the several generations old technology, systems and policies. The majority of executive management has a foot out the door.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2019-06-24

    City National Bank Response

    August 26, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your candid feedback. We rely on colleague input to make City National an even better place to work and do business; in fact, we recently launched a new program for colleagues to share their thoughts directly with our new CEO, Kelly Coffey. As is true for all organizations, there are areas we need to work on, but we believe that we’re making progress in the areas core to our business and culture. Thank you for your contributions during your tenure at the bank. I wish you well in whatever is next. Laura Lallone, VP, HR Communications Program Manager

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company and Lots of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Deep institutional knowledge, the Bank cares about colleagues and clients and wants to do the right thing. The move to 2CAL is great, the space is wonderful.

    Cons

    Coordination between divisions is not always as efficient as it could be - attributable to the growth since the RBC merger/acquisition.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2018-04-24

    City National Bank Response

    May 8, 2018

    Thank you for your kind comments! I agree with you fully that City National Bank cares about its colleagues. We also have a deep commitment to our clients and the communities we serve. Ivet Markaryan, SVP & HR Business Partner Manager

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Institutional knowledge is very deep, relationship-based business with great human capital, genuinely cares about customers, it's not all about greed

    Cons

    Integration with RBC still has a ways to go, some of the benefits of that integration won't be felt for a while

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2018-03-09

    City National Bank Response

    March 21, 2018City National Bank

    I agree—the culture at City National is pretty remarkable. It makes me proud every day to work at a company that genuinely cares about clients, colleagues and the communities where we work. I see it at every level of the organization and in the way we make decisions, big and small. With our expansion and the RBC integration, it’s an exciting time to be part of this exceptional company. Thanks for your contributions, and keep the ideas and comments coming! Martha Tuma, Chief Human Resources Officer

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great Bank but losing it’s identity fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Loan Officer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employees, for the most part. Great reputation with commercial, private banking and entertainment industries. Decent benefits platform, growing quickly which means more open positions.

    Cons

    Company merged with large Canadian bank (RBC) in 2015 and lots of key management that helped create their stellar reputation and culture has left or will be retiring in a year or so. CNB is quickly losing it’s original DNA in many divisions/departments due to mass hiring of new managers (with a big bank retail mindset) which has caused key, established, employees to move on. There are only a handful of departments left that still have the “CNB” feel. To be honest, it’s too early to tell if this is a “Con” but it has definitely caused a high turnover in employees which means a new feel/culture is emerging. If you’re into the culture of banks like BofA, Wells Fargo and Chase then this might be a good fit for someone because that seems to be the trend they going to

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2018-02-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Hands down the best place you will work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank

    Pros

    Work environment, priority on people, work life balance, management support, everything is just great and city national bank so far.

    Cons

    Nothing is really negative here. Though after the acquisition by rbc, the complete restructuring is underway and causing some roadblocks which is expected for any growth.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2017-10-13
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Times are changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Culture, brand, and values. CNB was very much a employee focused bank which in turn reflected on keeping clients happy.

    Cons

    Since RBC took over those things seem to be changing. We are no longer a client driven bank but turning into a profit driven one where employees come last.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2017-07-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Talent Acquisition Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with City National Bank for over two years now. The experience has been amazing, especially through the merger with RBC. The company's PRIDE values are present through all colleagues around the bank. It's been such a great place to work

    Cons

    Keeping up with technology has been a challenge but we are continuously seeing improvements and enhancements that make our work less manual.

    City National Bank2017-07-08

    City National Bank Response

    July 22, 2017

    You are right - City National Bank is a great place to work and is growing. We are adding colleagues in record numbers. Our Talent Acquisition team is doing a great job - keep up the good work! Mike Kilroy, SVP & HR Business Partner Manager

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 20 reviews