City National Bank "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

City National Bank Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
City National Bank CEO Kelly Coffey
Kelly Coffey
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is great, virtually no need for overtime unless it gets super busy(in 28 reviews)

  • "CNB is the best place I ever worked(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "Other than traffic in the DTLA area; but there is nothing CNB can do about that one(in 13 reviews)

  • "Since being purchased by RBC the focus has changed from business banking to consumer(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "It's a different company than it was a year ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President - Technology in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very good work-life balance. Opportunity to work with good technology. Amazing views from the office Decent pay. Good job titles.

    Cons

    Lots of slow-moving bureaucracy if you want to get things done and shine.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2019-09-25

    City National Bank Response

    November 25, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for the feedback. City National is always looking at ways to make the company an even better place to work, so I appreciate your candor and feedback. On a regular basis, we do formal competitive reviews to make sure our compensation programs (base salary, bonus and stock) are in alignment, and address any gaps as needed. Long-term incentives (stock awards) are not tied to title; eligibility is based on competitive market practice and CNB salary grade. We also have programs that extend one-time discretionary stock awards in recognition for colleagues who have achieved exceptional performance during the year. Regarding the timing of bonuses, most companies have moved away from quarterly or mid-year payouts, as it’s very short-term focused. City National’s annual bonus is based not only on colleague performance, but also overall company performance—as is our profit sharing program. Please feel free to reach out to me if you have additional questions related to compensation. Linda Smith SVP, Compensation – Human Resources Division

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Mortgage Underwriter in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, good work life balance.

    Cons

    No training provided. Technology is nonexistent.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2020-01-25
  3. "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Credit Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has amazing culture and great work/life balance.

    Cons

    There can be conflict between management but overall great environment.

    City National Bank2019-09-19

    City National Bank Response

    December 17, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are incredibly proud of the culture and of our work/life balance, and feel that it is critical to helping colleagues be their best at work. If you are open to it, I encourage you to connect with your HR Business Partner to have a conversation about your feedback regarding management. We would love to hear more and see what we can do to help. Thank you for everything you do at City National. Tracy Curry SVP, Lead HR Business Partner Manager

    Continue reading
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Credit Risk Review Officer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, generally most colleagues are enjoyable to work with, and not a white collar grind shop like other banks.

    Cons

    Compensation not a top levels for market and long-term impact RBC's acquisition in 11/2015 is still TBD.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2019-09-16
  5. "Great company, great work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Analyst in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Rapidly growing after RBC acquisition, strong bank in Los Angeles, managers care about your career growth, lots of growth opportunities within many different divisions in the bank. Work life balance is great, virtually no need for overtime unless it gets super busy.

    Cons

    Credit Analyst work involves lots of spreading, after a while it can get repetitive so it's up to you to pursue the next step

    City National Bank2019-01-25

    City National Bank Response

    April 18, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review! We are fortunate to have colleagues who are passionate about the bank and our culture. I fully agree with your comment “…it’s up to you to pursue the next step.” Our career development philosophy is that colleagues own their own development path. But, while you’re in the driver’s seat, you aren’t alone. You should create a development plan, set up a meeting with your supervisor and share your plan. Come with ideas about how to achieve your career aspirations or how to learn more about your current role. Think about ways you can contribute to the success of your division and the bank. That’s a great place to start the conversation to find new challenges and ways to get you to the next step. The colleague development process is outlined on our intranet (Infolink); I also encourage you to reach out to your HR Business Partner to discuss all of this further. Mike Kilroy SVP, HR Business Partner Manager

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Stay away if you are looking for a Challenging Finance Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Analyst - Specialty Banking in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Profitable business line with ample deal flow. Work/life balance is good

    Cons

    The work at the analyst level is elementary work requiring little brain power. Product offerings are vanilla credit facilities, with no desire by executives to drive higher revenue generating business. Upper management is comprised of baby boomers who are set in their archaic ways and have fostered a culture where everyone is looking to leave. Tiny bonuses

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2019-01-05

    City National Bank Response

    January 15, 2019City National Bank

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are always looking for ways to make City National an even better place to work. One of the great things about City National is that all colleagues, regardless of title or level, are encouraged to innovate and take initiative beyond the bounds of their job description. I’m sorry if you didn’t have this experience in your role at the bank. We take pride in promoting an open and positive work environment where all colleagues feel appreciated and are given opportunities for growth. Your note about leadership is timely. 2019 is going to be a big year, with changes at the most senior level of leadership. Our new CEO, Kelly Coffey, joins us in February and our new CMO, Linda Duncombe, already is up and running. Thanks again for your thoughts, as well as the contributions you made during your time here. I wish you all the best in whatever is next for you. Tracy Curry SVP, HR Business Partner Manager

    Continue reading
  7. "Nice people, but essentially a family business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wealth Advisor in Beverly Hills, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City National Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    If you're not a banker, there's not as much opportunity for advancement. Salary progression is slow and painful.

    City National Bank2018-04-02
  8. "Company Overview Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President - Technology in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance, Friendly Colleagues

    Cons

    Not much growth, benefits are average

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2017-12-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "***** (5 Start)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance. you will love it.

    Cons

    Commute is long. But it depends on where you live.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2017-10-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Hands down the best place you will work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City National Bank

    Pros

    Work environment, priority on people, work life balance, management support, everything is just great and city national bank so far.

    Cons

    Nothing is really negative here. Though after the acquisition by rbc, the complete restructuring is underway and causing some roadblocks which is expected for any growth.

    Continue reading
    City National Bank2017-10-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews