City of Austin Texas Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
City of Austin Texas City Manager Spencer Cronk (no image)
Spencer Cronk
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Extremely Great Benefits and Generous PTO(in 23 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, great city and lots of opportunity once you are working for the City(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of red tape, which is normal for a city job(in 7 reviews)

  • "is only part time with no benefits(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Austin Texas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good pay, great people to work with.

    Cons

    Traffic can be difficult to and from work.

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2020-05-18
  2. "Fine for young folks"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City of Austin Texas full-time

    Pros

    good health ins, looks good on resume

    Cons

    muni govt benefits are sad compared to modern corporations. esp in conservative texas. limited time off, etc.

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2020-05-22
  3. "Human Resources"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Austin Texas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits were the only positive experience.

    Cons

    HR at OTC is a joke. They're barely funded and there's no work life balance. You have to buy your own supplies. Their training is terrible. Constant reports requested that no one really cares about. Just checking a box. They use antiquated systems and processes and are not open to new ideas or change of any kind. They routinely asked me to change my paper timecard to reflect less time than I actually worked. I just gave up keeping track of my hours even though I easily worked 9 hours a day.

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2020-05-02
  4. "Great pay, benefits, etc."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Administration Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Austin Texas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities are unlimited with the City of Austin (COA) .

    Cons

    Some departments may be too Bureaucratic and not appreciate or encourage creativity and change.

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2020-03-21
  5. "Love my job"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Government Relations in Austin, TX

    I have been working at City of Austin Texas full-time

    Pros

    good hours from 8 to 5 and we get good benefits

    Cons

    very political climate and supervisors show favoritisms

    City of Austin Texas2020-03-04
  6. "good place to work."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Austin Texas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    pay and benefits are good

    Cons

    glass ceiling and hard to move up.

    City of Austin Texas2020-02-25
  7. "Great Place to Work for long termers"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Real Estate Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Austin Texas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The benefits are outstanding. Job stability is very high.

    Cons

    No financial motivation possible. Everyone gets the same cost of living raise.

    City of Austin Texas2020-02-13
  8. "Better than expected for a public position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent Customer Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Austin Texas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Not much overtime Low but fair pay

    Cons

    Pay is low Opportunities for advancement are few

    City of Austin Texas2020-02-04
  9. "Micromanaging, misleading, toxic work environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources in Austin, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Austin Texas

    Pros

    Health insurance and a few genuine coworkers

    Cons

    Management and supervisors lack people skills let alone the skills to do their own jobs. Toxic culture in OTC. No professional development not to mention training. Archaic technology (welcome to local municipality). Usage of paper is unacceptable for an ecologically conscious city such as Austin. Hostile work environment. There are a few genuine coworkers. Unfortunately, there is an atmosphere of competition and derision. Bullying is a frequent occurrence by certain supervisors and coworkers. Don’t consider this place if you value your sanity and health.

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2020-03-09
  10. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Austin Texas part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sick leave even for temporary employees

    Cons

    Little room for growth within buildings, need to move to different places to move up, people just stay for very long periods

    City of Austin Texas2020-01-29
Found 203 reviews