City of Austin Texas "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

City of Austin Texas Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Mar 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
City of Austin Texas City Manager Spencer Cronk (no image)
Spencer Cronk
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Extremely Great Benefits and Generous PTO(in 23 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, great city and lots of opportunity once you are working for the City(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of red tape, which is normal for a city job(in 7 reviews)

  • "is only part time with no benefits(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fun and Rewarding work in the community."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Athletic Coordinator in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Austin Texas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment. Everyone loves what they do and are laid back. If you like a casual work environment, this is it.

    Cons

    Hard to move up. You have to wait for someone to leave or retire.

    City of Austin Texas2019-03-05
  2. "Micromanaging, misleading, toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources in Austin, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Austin Texas

    Pros

    Health insurance and a few genuine coworkers

    Cons

    Management and supervisors lack people skills let alone the skills to do their own jobs. Toxic culture in OTC. No professional development not to mention training. Archaic technology (welcome to local municipality). Usage of paper is unacceptable for an ecologically conscious city such as Austin. Hostile work environment. There are a few genuine coworkers. Unfortunately, there is an atmosphere of competition and derision. Bullying is a frequent occurrence by certain supervisors and coworkers. Don’t consider this place if you value your sanity and health.

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2020-03-09
  3. "About what you'd epxect from any government role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - IT Support Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Austin Texas for more than a year

    Pros

    -stability -easy workload -telework -diverse work environment

    Cons

    -no incentive to do anything as pay increases are based on time of service -difficult to get fired, so again, no incentives = lots of lazy people -every "promotion" needs to be applied for as if you never worked for the city in the first place

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2019-09-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great City"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Geospatial Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Austin Texas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health Benefits Relaxed Work Environment including dress and scheduling Something like 12,000-13,000 employees, can transfer to find the right position for you if you are unsatisfied with your job.

    Cons

    Most people hired now spend significant time as a temp worker before they were brought on board. New positions are few and far between, the hiring process is slow, and they usually hire from within (the temps) sometimes even only allowing current City of Austin employees to apply (again the temps).

    City of Austin Texas2018-01-30
  5. "It's a pretty decent municipal job with a lot of office politics."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Austin Texas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work environment was pretty laid back and easy to integrate into and the people were friendly. The benefits package is also excellent.

    Cons

    It's basically impossible to fire someone, so the individual I replaced had been doing less than the bare minimum with no consequences. I came in to find a stack of tickets dating back 18 months, almost every single one of which had passed the time limits in our service level agreement. The individual I replaced just shrugged and went to another (higher paying) position 'working' on something else.

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2017-09-25
  6. "Waste Diversion Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Austin Texas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really strong benefits and low stress work environment. Good place to have a career and management is really interested in helping workers further their career interests.

    Cons

    A risk averse culture can sometimes sacrifice not making mistakes for providing top level service and delivering exceptional results. Slow moving.

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2016-03-22
  7. "Building Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Building Services Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at City of Austin Texas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable work environment with a broad range of available positions.

    Cons

    Very limited management mobility unless you are a UT grad or from Fort Worth.

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2016-03-30
  8. "Wireless Master Site Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Wireless Telecommunication Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Austin Texas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits including pension plan. Work environment allows for innovative thinking with team participation. Because of the nature of the systems my group supports, we are engaged in providing service for multiple regional entities, & providing support plan that involves multiple vendors & services. These and other attributes, make my job interesting where my abilities are constantly being tested to find solutions or resolutions.

    Cons

    Upper management overly involved with technical details rather than spending more time on and concentrating on financial and administrative aspects of our department. They should spend more time in understanding the work involved in providing our services so that they can come up with good ideas on how to help us streamline & improve our departmental process. Without understanding of labor processes and types of delivered services, it is very difficult for upper management to be able to assist their technical teams with adequate quantity of resources.

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2015-08-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "City of Austin jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Austin Texas

    Pros

    great benefits flexible schedule independence variety of jobs easy to network

    Cons

    low pay same work tasks older work environment hard to get raises

    City of Austin Texas2015-06-29
  10. "Lifeguard Adventures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lifeguard in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Austin Texas

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers and managers, good perks, great work environment

    Cons

    Can be stressful, sometimes hard to get hours

    Continue reading
    City of Austin Texas2015-06-08
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews