City of Baltimore Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Baltimore Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Stephanie Rawlings-Blake
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "There are often long hours an unpredictability in your schedule(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great benefits and paid time off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tow Truck Driver in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Baltimore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent health benefits. Lots of paid time off. My department has alot of overtime.

    Cons

    Low starting pay. Mandatory snow duty. Cdl required for a job that doesn't have a need for a cdl

    Advice to Management

    Raise starting pay. Or lower the liscence requirements to gain employment. Cdl holders can get jobs with much higher starting pay than the city offers for the tow truck operators . So we have a hard time recruiting new employees.

    City of Baltimore2019-04-15
  2. "Dirty and hot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Storekeeper I in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Baltimore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very little responsibility. Generally pleasant people to work with.

    Cons

    This is wastewater treatment. The entire plant is dirty. Also, no air conditioning. Very hot in the summer, and overheated in the winter.

    Advice to Management

    Show some respect to employees.

    City of Baltimore2019-01-27
  3. "Department of Housing and Community Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Assistant in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Baltimore full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Dependent upon what division you work for, there is room for advancement and awesome benefits

    Cons

    They give raises and take them back through other means

    Advice to Management

    Support the team you have built.

    City of Baltimore2019-01-18
  4. "Engineer 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer I 

    I have been working at City of Baltimore full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    City has Big Projects to build experience.

    Cons

    Communication from upper management and HR is minimal.

    City of Baltimore2018-11-05
  5. "Recreation Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Baltimore part-time

    Pros

    There was a degree of freedom that you don't have at most jobs.

    Cons

    It was kind of far away from my house.

    Advice to Management

    You can manage without being controlling.

    City of Baltimore2018-08-22
  6. "Business Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Baltimore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits. hours and congenial staff

    Cons

    Revolving door of personnel.

    Advice to Management

    Make the position worthwhile to stay. Salary needs to be increased substantially.

    City of Baltimore2018-09-03
  7. "Towing Division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tow Truck Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Baltimore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We get lots of overtime

    Cons

    Dealing with the public can be difficult

    Advice to Management

    Better pay is needed for what we do everyday.

    City of Baltimore2018-08-12
  8. "Pretty Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Baltimore full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Healthcare benefits, adequate vacation time

    Cons

    Poor management, lack of innovation, corruption, mediocrity everywhere

    Advice to Management

    Do not continue to promote people based on who they know instead of education, skills, and experience. Value and respect your employees instead of treating them like children

    City of Baltimore2018-04-19
  9. "experience so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at City of Baltimore

    Pros

    work is stable and with good health benefits

    Cons

    organization is not well structured

    City of Baltimore2018-01-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Network Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Senior Wide Area Network Engineer in Baltimore, MD
      Recommends

      I have been working at City of Baltimore full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      the city of Baltimore has good benefits

      Cons

      the city of Baltimore does not pay high for the expertise

      Advice to Management

      The city of Baltimore is nice place to work based on your area of expertise. For technology, however it does not pay at the level that is deserved.

      City of Baltimore2017-12-22
    Found 58 reviews