City of Bellevue Washington Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Bellevue Washington Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
City of Bellevue Washington CEO Brad Miyake (no image)
Brad Miyake
13 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Seasonal in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Bellevue Washington for less than a year

    Pros

    Comp. pay, benefits are great, lots of time off

    Cons

    Job can seem too easy/ boring

    Advice to Management

    none

    City of Bellevue Washington2018-11-09
  2. "Nice people, stable place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Bellevue Washington full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, capable and smart coworkers, stable workplace

    Cons

    Salaries not competitive, not very innovative

    City of Bellevue Washington2019-09-14
  3. "City of Bellevue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Bellevue Washington full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, good benefits,

    Cons

    Highly political, management heavy, no upward mobility

    City of Bellevue Washington2018-11-27
  4. "Working for the city is great and it comes with great opportunities to grow within the city."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recreation Assistant in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Bellevue Washington part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff, pay, opportunity, community management

    Cons

    Difficult customers, city membership system has some problems

    City of Bellevue Washington2018-10-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Bellevue Washington full-time

    Pros

    Great Coworkers who are talented

    Cons

    They hire good talented performers and give them menial task only. You cannot talk to HR about problems because they will not approach the problem with an open mind. Some managers have not been trained and are just rude. Other managers just need to retire.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging and start leading. Help employees reach their full potential..

    City of Bellevue Washington2018-10-14
  6. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Bellevue Washington full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits, diverse staff, employee recognition

    Cons

    Employees don't make enough to live in the city they work for.

    City of Bellevue Washington2018-07-16
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic people, horribly understaffed with no end in sight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Bellevue Washington full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people who work for the City are some of the best I have ever met. They are very hard working, committed to their coworkers and empathetic to the people who live in and visit the City. Supervisors and mid level managers (at least in my Department) are excellent and care a great deal about their teams. The benefits are very good and the job stability is also very good. Facilities and equipment are both very... good.

    Show More

    Cons

    The City has been extremely conservative financially. This can be good, however it has been taken to an extreme where the staff is severely over taxed and many parts of the organization are heading towards burnout. The City is very opposed to raising taxes and/or fees and so there is a looming financial crisis that sees the City's revenues being exceeded by the costs to do 'business' in 2022. The City is now... looking to cut more costs when the organizations is already far too lean. I have worked for the city for almost 30 years and it is my coworkers who keep me from leaving. I have seen the City steadily heading towards this impending train wreak over the last 15 + years. Bellevue used to be a regional leader and trailblazer, there is no longer enough capacity to do anything but follow the lead of others.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The employees are burning out and need more support. The CMO and/or the City Council has backed the City into a financial corner that will soon cause collapse of vital functions as the system is already over stressed; picture the proverbial "straw on the camel's back". I appreciate the City's desire to be good stewards of the publics funds, I support this concept, but there needs to be good stewardship of the... public's services and the City staff; unfortunately the minimalistic taxing and fee policies are leading to system failure. OneCity and HPO cannot make up for the lack of funding and innovation is not possible when the senior staff is too busy doing work and attending meetings to get any time to reflect and develop new concepts (Q2 time).

    Show More
    City of Bellevue Washington2018-05-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Hard working, good culture, department management lacks vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Bellevue Washington full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Our department is almost exclusively hard-working people that care a lot about what they do and get a lot of things done, but it's not entirely consistent across groups within the department. Good, fair salary. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for advancement or career building. Too much touchy-feely churn about "what we love about our jobs" instead of just asking people what they want to do and giving them some freedom to do so. Not everyone treated equally, as (very) few have very little to do and are happy with that and are not held accountable, while everyone else works very hard.

    Advice to Management

    If you've been there more than 15 years, please retire and let fresher blood and a fresher perspective take the helm. Get over the petty turf wars and act like a manager (applies to very few). Do your homework to understand what the worker bees are doing every day.

    City of Bellevue Washington2018-04-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nice work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at City of Bellevue Washington full-time

    Pros

    The city is committed to becoming a high performing organization

    Cons

    Retaining employees has been challenging in recent years

    City of Bellevue Washington2017-11-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Benefits good, leadership...not so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civic Services 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Bellevue Washington full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits package, front line staff in most departments friendly, helpful and easy to work with.

    Cons

    Have worked for the city many years. Pretty much NO opportunity for advancement no matter how well individual performs. Cronyism and nepotism is the only way to move forward.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff (No, actually listen...no more lip service!) and pay attention to where the points of failure in your leadership are then do something about it! Advance those that deserve it, not those that heave been there the longest.

    City of Bellevue Washington2017-09-25
Found 47 reviews