City of Boulder Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Boulder Reviews

Updated Jun 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
City of Boulder CEO Suzanne Jones
Suzanne Jones
3 Ratings
  1. "Summer Crew Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Boulder

    Pros

    Reasonable management, location, good full time summer position for students

    Cons

    Questionable hires make limit the enjoyability and productivity of the job

    City of Boulder2017-05-23
  2. "Depends on the department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Parking Enforcement Officer in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Boulder full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits, lots of perks like a free bus pass, supposed to be a diverse and progressive climate

    Cons

    Benefits often being cut, pay for non-management is not a living wage for Boulder, worked for Parking Services and it was horrible. Multiple investigations for unprofessional behavior, discrimination, policy violations.

    Continue reading
    City of Boulder2017-02-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Boulder full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cares for employees. Meaningful opportunity to serve community. Decent overall benefit package.

    Cons

    Lower base salary than comparable private sector options.

    City of Boulder2017-02-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Boulder full-time

    Pros

    Loved working here! Great people, great collaboration, staff really care about the work they do for the community.

    Cons

    Not sure that women and men earn equally. That was always a nagging doubt.

    City of Boulder2016-12-09
  5. "Supportive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Boulder full-time

    Pros

    I had a very supportive boss, became friends with my coworkers, and enjoyed working with kids day to day.

    Cons

    I think the program I worked for could have procedurally done better, and there were instances where a co-worker made inappropriate comments that I do not think were handled by leadership appropriately.

    Continue reading
    City of Boulder2016-11-09
  6. "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - YSI Program Assistant in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Boulder part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great staff, always something fun to do.

    Cons

    There are honestly no cons I can think of at the moment.

    Continue reading
    City of Boulder2016-09-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Parks and Recreation - Ballfield Maintenace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City of Boulder full-time

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy Managers are easygoing

    Cons

    Have to work several weekends during summer months for tournaments

    City of Boulder2016-07-06
  8. "Boulder Parks and Recreation Umpire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Umpire in Boulder, CO

    I have been working at City of Boulder part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love boulder and love being a student at a campus where the community is so well connected and supportive of the academic environment. This job allows me to give back in a way that is unique, as I take a mere five hour chunk of time out of my day and am an umpire for a laid back game, where community members come to relax and enjoy the environment that is so close knit.

    Cons

    I do not like the red tape, the constant changing of schedules because of lack of communication and in some cases, irresponsibly leadership. Nevertheless, I enjoy the job but I am looking for an internship in an effort to launch a career on my hard earned double major Advertising/Communication degree.

    City of Boulder2016-06-27
  9. "Administrative Specialist II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Boulder part-time

    Pros

    Overall it is a good organization, but it all depends on which division you work for so ask around.

    Cons

    Have been known to take advantage of upper management expecting them to take on extra roles and cover vacant jobs while approval to hire is pending... which can take months even years.

    City of Boulder2016-06-16
  10. "Good people and solid work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Boulder part-time

    Pros

    Employees were all very friendly and helpful to new staff. The pay was good and employees were a tight knit group.

    Cons

    Typical office politics, but that happens in any office setting. Employees required to enroll in PERA, which is not a problem if you are planning to work for the city for a long time but is not beneficial if you have short term employment because it is a pain to get your money out.

    City of Boulder2016-04-14
Found 43 reviews