City of Boulder Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Boulder Reviews

Updated Jun 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
City of Boulder CEO Suzanne Jones
Suzanne Jones
3 Ratings
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Boulder part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This position gave me a chance to gain invaluable, degree related experience with extensive, patient supervision while finishing my university degree. Employees seemed happy and welcomed the opportunity to help me and the work was challenging and varied.

    Cons

    The pay is low for these types of positions and as turnover in the city staff is low (due to happy employees) there is little opportunity to be hired upon graduation from college.

    City of Boulder2015-12-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Work Environment, Amazing Colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Boulder full-time

    Pros

    Most employees of the City of Boulder are all highly qualified, outgoing contributors. There is a tight bond among departments and a lot of interdepartmental work. And on top of everything, the benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    There is limited advancement possibilities. Unless you are actively seeking a higher degree, moving up within the City may be difficult.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. You seem to be recruiting great people for the organization and providing excellent service for the citizens.

    City of Boulder2015-11-05
  3. "the library"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Boulder full-time

    Pros

    Some departments are very flexible about where you work and when you work. my coworkers are really nice and understanding people. I have seen many generous things done for others. you also get to be involved in many new and exciting changes

    Cons

    high expectations with very little extra compensation. health care coverage is mediocre at best. additionally, you have to pay the city to park.

    Advice to Management

    slow down a bit and stop trying to implement all the new changes at once. we're doing a lot of big things and we need a chance to recover from all the work of pulling them off.

    City of Boulder2015-11-06
  4. "Good While In School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at City of Boulder

    Pros

    -meet nice patrons -mostly nice co workers

    Cons

    -not challenging -poor managment -no communication

    City of Boulder2015-10-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Boulder

    Pros

    Great staff and colleagues, lots of opportunity for growth and development, good training, great vacation time

    Cons

    Big work program, sometimes very reactionary rather than strategic

    Advice to Management

    Be ware of the work plan and staffing levels. Don't chase shiny objects, but stay focused on priorities.

    City of Boulder2015-09-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at City of Boulder full-time

    Pros

    Community Service Ability to learn and interact with talented professionals Employees care tremendously about their work, organization and community Possibility of making a difference Training

    Cons

    There is a perception that upper management doesn't care about employees and that employees are easily replaceable Workload is ridiculous

    Advice to Management

    Be strategic Trust staff and empower them to make decisions about their work There should be much better prioritization from the top down Stop building up the hierarchy (eteam/mteam/deputies/etc)... Upper management needs to be more transparent and build trust on their own team

    City of Boulder2015-08-29
  7. "coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Boulder part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with - fun atmosphere. Employees even part time get great benefits including use of the recreation centers and pools. Also wellness perks where you get money back that you paid toward benefits.

    Cons

    Director micro-manages and brings morale down. Collaboration is one of our City values - but in this department it is her way or hit the highway.

    Advice to Management

    Let people do their jobs, and for goodness sakes, before you make a major change that impacts your stake holders - discuss it with the employees that are directly effected.

    City of Boulder2015-08-27
  8. "Not the Worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Childcare Attendant in Boulder, CO
    Recommends

    I have been working at City of Boulder part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The managers and child care leads are fun Flexible work hours and everyone tends to be understanding of person situations If you love working with children this is the job for you

    Cons

    They don't tell you that you have to ask for your raises and they are based solely on hours completed No manager on duty so no one really knows what needs to get done no holiday pay but you will be asked to work holidays

    City of Boulder2015-07-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Boulder for more than 8 years

    Pros

    employee development, great community, talented staff members, innovation abilities

    Cons

    All employees in many departments have too much on their plates. Communication can be less than ideal.

    City of Boulder2015-04-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "I learned some very valuable job skills at the City."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Boulder full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Because the citizens of Boulder are very willing to finance projects, there are many learning opportunities at the City of Boulder. For the people who need training, they are willing to pay for the training to keep you current on skills.

    Cons

    The area I worked in would not pay for schooling only training, there was an expectation of the employees to work 60-70 hours a week. There is not work-life balance. Most people cannot afford to live in Boulder, so it was frequently discussed that over 70% of the workforce commuted into Boulder to work. The pay is comparable to Denver but the cost of living does not factor into the pay. It costs much less to... live in Denver than it does in Boulder.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    For the hours commitment and the cost of living in the city, this should be considered when evaluating pay scales. Also, there is value in keeping the people you have and not continuously training new employees. I find it surprising that upper management/city manager/city council do not find it odd that the only people that they can hire are from out of state.

    City of Boulder2015-03-11
Found 43 reviews