City of Burnaby Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Burnaby Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Derek Corrigan
12 Ratings
  1. "good start up job at the museum field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Burnaby part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible work hours. Interesting job and good environment to work at.

    Cons

    no real career prospects, difficult to move up

    Advice to Management

    listen to employees.

    City of Burnaby2017-10-26
  2. Helpful (3)

    "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City of Burnaby

    Pros

    great environment and support for employees

    Cons

    discrepancy between wages for education and experience required foor jobs in inside vs outside unions.

    City of Burnaby2016-02-16
  3. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Leader 
    Recommends

    I have been working at City of Burnaby part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Staff are supportive, great place to work. Lots of opportunity to grow.

    Cons

    Some of the facilities are older and need fixing and maintenance

    City of Burnaby2019-08-15
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Labourer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Burnaby part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Support students returning to school Lenient with giving days off

    Cons

    Nepotism - Favoritism towards certain employees

    City of Burnaby2019-08-14
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Burnaby full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable work, good benefits, municipal pension plan

    Cons

    Hard to advance in some areas as people stay long term

    City of Burnaby2019-06-21
  6. "City of Burnaby is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aquatic Leader/Lifeguard in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Burnaby part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It was a fun and great job that paid well and allowed me to pay for most of my post-secondary education without having to take out a student loan. It had a flexible schedule that allowed me to select shifts outside of my class schedules during weekdays or weekends. We did a lot of training a couple of times each year through in-services, and it was a great opportunity to build on my teaching / communication, interpersonal,...

    Show More

    Cons

    It does take time to build up work seniority in order to choose preferred swimming pool to work at, as this is a unionized environment. However, like any job, if you put in the time and demonstrate a strong work ethic, there are great opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work in providing the employees in-service training and continual on-going development.

    City of Burnaby2019-06-19
  7. "Horrible city to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Building Department in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Burnaby full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Almost liveable wage -every second Monday off *non paid)

    Cons

    Below grade pay for your trade/profession (compare) Need to pay for clean drinking water- Awful management- Lackluster minds and souls-

    Advice to Management

    Spend some of that billion surplus and create a decent working environment for employees. Need new minds at the old boys club

    City of Burnaby2019-07-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Burnaby full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, vacation, location close to parks

    Cons

    Bad management, lack of communications, no team spirit

    City of Burnaby2019-05-03
  9. "Outdoor Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at City of Burnaby

    Pros

    Great staff! Well supported and amazing way to spend the summer

    Cons

    Some poor communication to management but overall still good

    Advice to Management

    Make a better communication method for staff to direct feedback to management

    City of Burnaby2019-03-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great job for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Burnaby part-time

    Pros

    Great support for workers. Great pay. Job safety.

    Cons

    Almost impossible to advance career-wise due to seniority. Lazy workers know their jobs are safe and they don't bother putting in an effort to better themselves.

    City of Burnaby2019-03-15
Found 42 reviews