City of Hope Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
City of Hope President and CEO Robert Stone
Robert Stone
131 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits or compensations in the industry(in 25 reviews)

  • "great place to learn more about the medical field(in 19 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Nice environment to work in"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Central Supply Technician I 

    I worked at City of Hope full-time

    Pros

    friendly staff, had a nice experience working there

    Cons

    none , great experience there!

    City of Hope Response

    July 6, 2020HR, Branding and Digital Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We pride ourselves in creating a welcoming and inclusive company culture. We're happy to hear your experience working at City of Hope was a positive one.

  2. "Just Okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Hope full-time

    Pros

    Lots of responsibilities, training is excellent

    Cons

    Some people get away with murder, some are pushed out over trivial/personal matters

  3. COVID-19

    "GREAT company to be at in the midst of COVID"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in Irwindale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Hope full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair compensation, great benefits package, lots of learning opportunities, and overall great humans who work here. All employees, across the enterprise, really care about our patients and our mission. In the midst of the COVID-19 crisis, City of Hope has been in constant communication with their employees. COH has been quick to adjust to the Work From Home culture, with over half of it's employees working remotely now. COH has taken care of its' employees by increasing some of our benefits opportunities and not having to furlough or layoff. My team has also received some opportunities for additional training and learning opportunities, in addition to having job security in the midst of a crisis.

    Cons

    Duarte location is not great when trying to recruit people to the organization, but it's bearable. Would be nice to be in a more metropolitan area. Due to this, there are not many food options on or near campus, besides a semi-expensive cafeteria.

    Continue reading

    City of Hope Response

    June 11, 2020HR, Branding and Digital Specialist

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We truly believe in supporting our employees, especially during a time of crisis. We’re so thankful to have some of the most dedicated and hard-working employees. Thank you for sharing your experience.

  4. COVID-19

    "A Company that Cares"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist in Irwindale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Hope full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic compensation, great benefits package, and an even more amazing organization to work for. They truly support you in everything you do, especially during the COVID crisis. City of Hope has greatly supported all of us throughout this pandemic and consistently keeps us updated with on-going communication. They truly care about their employees and I highly recommend COH for anyone considering a career here.

    Cons

    Corporate offices are in the middle of nowhere with very little options for lunch and on-campus options are very pricey.

    Continue reading

    City of Hope Response

    June 8, 2020HR, Branding and Digital Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We couldn’t agree more about your feedback! We’re so thankful to reward our dedicated and hard-working employees. Thank you for sharing your experience.

  5. "Good cause horrible management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Hope full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great cause. Great team members and colleagues to work with. Very rewarding working experience. Decent compensation.

    Cons

    Horrible management. Toxic leadership. Emotional and verbal abuse. Too many “leadership and management”, too little real staff who actually gets the job done. Physicians are not appreciated nor licensed healthcare providers.

    Continue reading

    City of Hope Response

    June 24, 2020HR, Branding and Digital Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you value City of Hope's cause and mission as much as we do. We also appreciate the candid feedback and will share it with the appropriate teams.

  6. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Duarte, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Hope full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent employer that offers great pay and benefits. Staff are committed and care deeply about the organization's mission. Beautiful campus.

    Cons

    Working day-to-day to fight a difficult disease such as cancer may not be for everyone. Everyone's contribution matters in the battle to defeat cancer, so consider applying only if you know you are passionate and will commit 100% of your effort to the fight.

    City of Hope Response

    June 5, 2020HR, Branding and Digital Specialist

    Thank you for the great review! We’re glad you had a positive experience at City of Hope. We’re so glad our benefits were a good fit for you. We know our employees deserve to be taken care of as much as they take care of their patients. Thank you for sharing your experience.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic team members, not so great leadership, Top-Down Corporate Style Management from some of the higher-ups"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Designer in Duarte, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Hope full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice campus, mostly good people, admirable mission,

    Cons

    Top-Down Management doesn't promote dynamic leaders much, Performance Reviews are rigged (no employee ever gets the top score, no matter how much they outperform others), Consultants do not engage employees, Consultants are rigid and make decisions that affect employees, Performance Evaluations are inaccurate and demoralizing, somewhat high turnover.

    Continue reading

    City of Hope Response

    June 5, 2020HR, Branding and Digital Specialist

    We’re honored to hear that our mission has made a lasting impact you. As a growing organization, we know that changes can happen. We take your feedback to heart and will share it with the appropriate teams. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Leadership"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Hope full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Environment is great. It’s an aesthetically pleasing campus and lots of great opportunities to explore extra curricular activities.

    Cons

    Mid level management is poor. Also, HR is not for the employees but for the managers. Be careful of senior management in their attempt to work their own personal agendas.

    Continue reading

    City of Hope Response

    June 5, 2020HR, Branding and Digital Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad to see you enjoyed City of Hope's work environment and had a positive experience. Our core values include collaboration and integrity, and we are always searching for ways to improve. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Research Fellow 
    Recommends

    I worked at City of Hope full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    people are nice, policy is generous

    Cons

    They should provide higher salary to meet the average expectation within the field

    City of Hope Response

    June 5, 2020HR, Branding and Digital Specialist

    Thank you for the great review! We’re glad you had a great experience working at City of Hope.

  10. "Not what I thought it was going to be like"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at City of Hope full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a lot of events

    Cons

    The commute is horrible, lots of traffic.

    Continue reading

    City of Hope Response

    June 5, 2020HR, Branding and Digital Specialist

    Thank you for the review! We appreciate our team members taking the time to provide valuable feedback and we take it to heart. We are always looking for ways to improve our employees’ experience.

Found 409 reviews