City of Hope "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Hope Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 1 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
City of Hope CEO Robert Stone
Robert Stone
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits or compensations in the industry(in 24 reviews)

  • "great place to learn more about the medical field(in 17 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Noble Cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Hope full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional environment, very nice coworkers, noble mission, available resources, good work-life balance.

    Cons

    I haven't been here very long, but I do hear very often that it is hard to move up for most people. Like most workplaces, there are politics. Some processes are also overly tedious, but the organization is making efforts for process improvement. I also wish there were more opportunities for working from home.

    Advice to Management

    You're doing great! I'm excited to experience the next phase of growth for City of Hope!

    City of Hope2018-09-10
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Changing Culture - for the worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Hope full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The hospital provides amazing patient care. The doctors are attentive and caring!

    Cons

    Firstly, I have been an employee for more than 10 years. For the first 7+ years, I absolutely loved my job. The work was fast paced, on the cutting edge of new therapies, and my PIs were constantly expanding my role as I grew. They pushed for growth, without being overbearing. They were in the lab every day, providing support and training, but then stepped back once you were deemed competent. They provided an... amazing culture that still allowed for work life balance. And, apparently, they protected us employees from the changing culture that was happening in the upper levels of management. When they retired, our lab duties shifted to accommodate their losses, which was fine initially. However, the buffer was lost and we were tossed head first into a cesspool of politics, favoritism, non-compliance and hostility. We were floored by the responses we received when reporting compliance breaches and conflicts of interest. We have been labeled as "problems" and "impeding other PIs research" when we question the safety and/or ethics. Other employees have reached out with concern due to the gossip that is being spread around campus about us. And HR, Compliance and other regulatory entities have no teeth to enforce regulations. They simply concede to the upper management and PI's wishes. They keep hiring "Directors" and "Managers" without any experience in the fields they are meant to direct, or employees left to report to them. It has become a dysfunctional mess of egos, with little care for those that perform the actual work on a daily basis. 2 years ago, I would have recommended this place to anyone looking for work. I know people who have received amazing care as patients and I loved being a part of that. Now, I would not send my worst enemy here. I am still trying to make changes from the inside because I have so many years invested and believe in the importance of the work that I do. However, I have little hope that my voice will hold water as it is being drowned out by others in upper management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers that are competent. Hire fewer managers and more employees. Listen to your employees. Stop the gossip and backstabbing, and clean out the swamp. This institution is starting to seem as bad as Washington DC!

    City of Hope2019-04-01
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Hope full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    coworkers, cafeteria, mission and values

    Cons

    management does not know how to manage a team, no work-life balance, parking is a struggle

    Advice to Management

    listen to your employees and make the changes. stop promoting people that do not qualify and learn how to speak to your employees

    City of Hope2019-03-22
  4. "Stable place with a good mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City of Hope full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunities, excellent work life balance, and family-like co workers.

    Cons

    Learned a lot. But slow career progression and takes a while for promotions.

    City of Hope2019-02-12
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Hope full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefit, work-life balance. Always feels welcomed

    Cons

    Career improvement can be limited at certain department

    City of Hope2018-08-14
  6. "CBG Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at City of Hope full-time

    Pros

    Very excellent work-life balance job.

    Cons

    Slow process of promotion.

    City of Hope2018-04-27
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Hostile work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Systems Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Hope for more than a year

    Pros

    The mission to help people with cancer.

    Cons

    Very hostile work environment. I reported the hostile work environment issue to HR, they simply ignored it. No work life balance. They will work you to the bone. Most employees end up quitting because they are overworked. No recognition. This place is a nightmare.

    City of Hope2018-05-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City of Hope full-time

    Pros

    You are at the forefront of cancer research

    Cons

    work life balance is always a challenge

    City of Hope2018-02-09
  9. "intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Hope full-time

    Pros

    good environment good work life balance

    Cons

    no bonus promotion after a fixed time period

    City of Hope2018-02-06
  10. "Data Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Hope full-time

    Pros

    Good Work/life balance, Good benefits, mentally rewarding

    Cons

    unclear strategy for growth of data science team

    City of Hope2017-11-28
Found 21 reviews