City of Houston "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Houston Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
City of Houston Mayor/Executive Officer Sylvester Turner (no image)
Sylvester Turner
96 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Terrible management in the department, low morale of coworkers, high turnover, and low pay(in 12 reviews)

  • "There is no room for growth unless you know a higher-up(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "City of Houston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excelent working conditions, good benefits, stable employement

    Cons

    little mobility in job placement

    City of Houston2019-04-11
  2. "Secure job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Scientist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Houston part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *good benefits *if you like working on your own most days its good * if you like silence in the work place its good *open to ideas

    Cons

    its government pay so its not the best

    Advice to Management

    i suppose it depends on which department / team you are in. My supervisor is great, she makes you feel like part of the team and values each members opinion.

    City of Houston2019-10-08
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Construction 

    I have been working at City of Houston

    Pros

    good benefits and good pay

    Cons

    none that i could see

    City of Houston2019-05-19
  4. "Good pay, make a difference, but bureaucratic frustrations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay. Good benefits. Love working for citizens. Professional development opportunities. Great coworkers and fun.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic frustrations. Too many hurdles to get basic things done. Things are slow to get fixed. Things depend on who mayor is. That is frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Make it easier to fix things and stop changing guidelines as mayor changes.

    City of Houston2019-03-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Public Sector Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bureau Chief in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits and retirement plans

    Cons

    Bureaucratic processes that delay procurement and change management

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent

    City of Houston2019-02-26
  6. "City of Houston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Public Health Investigator in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits pension is lackluster

    Cons

    Very political environment very difficult to move up

    City of Houston2019-01-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Working at the City of Houston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Public Loss Investigator in Houston, TX

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, days off, management.

    Cons

    Salary, lack of parking, work hour flexibility.

    City of Houston2018-10-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Deputy Assistant Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits are good at city.

    Cons

    Leadership development can be improved.

    City of Houston2018-09-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Ok Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and great coworkers

    Cons

    Does not appreciate employees. Management hasnt found a way to keep morale high.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees opinions

    City of Houston2018-03-19
  10. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, autonomous work environment

    Cons

    Salaries are not comparable to other cities.

    City of Houston2018-01-17
Found 35 reviews