City of Houston "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Houston Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
61%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
City of Houston Mayor/Executive Officer Sylvester Turner (no image)
Sylvester Turner
96 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Terrible management in the department, low morale of coworkers, high turnover, and low pay(in 12 reviews)

  • "There is no room for growth unless you know a higher-up(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Terrible management, low morale, and high turnover."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Urban Park Ranger 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Houston full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    City benefits are somewhat decent

    Cons

    Terrible management in the department, low morale of coworkers, high turnover, and low pay.

    City of Houston2019-10-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "IT Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time

    Pros

    Rollover PTO Holidays off Pension for 5 year employees

    Cons

    Low pay for employees Unstable job security

    Advice to Management

    Promote within for employees who are hungry to move up

    City of Houston2018-09-24
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City of Houston full-time

    Pros

    job stability is there all the time

    Cons

    low pay and no increase at all

    City of Houston2018-08-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant City Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant City Attorney in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pension is good if you have worked there for several years.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, insufficient staffing, low pay

    Advice to Management

    Don’t undervalue institutional knowledge, treat employees with respect.

    City of Houston2017-11-24
  6. "Technical Hardware Analyst II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to come and learn. Generally, people are willing to help train you and help guide you.

    Cons

    Low pay, now I've only been year about a year and a half, but everyone hear just talks about how every year that people get laid off due to the mayor's priorities. I just don't like to live my life that every year or every new mayor my job could be in jeopardy for nothing other than fiscal responsibilities nothing into my character or work ethic

    Advice to Management

    I think they do a pretty could job. They do what they can with a city that doesn't invest into much IT related functions. Cheap, but they make it work.

    City of Houston2016-06-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Safety Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Construction Safety Consultant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Houston for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is no pro about working for the City of Houston

    Cons

    Punching time clock, low pay, deducting car allowance, very low salary increases

    Advice to Management

    Go back to the old system and pay the people the most current job salary and what they are worth. And stop paying so much to the management.

    City of Houston2015-10-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Park maintance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Welder/Simi Skilled Laborer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Houston for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benifits and 401k along with working with all kinds of people..

    Cons

    Low pay grade. Very hard to move up in the company.

    Advice to Management

    none

    City of Houston2014-07-04
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Its an okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Houston full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are great to work with, paid holidays, good work-life balance, no weekends (depending on the department), can bringing children to work.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay, very political, no unity across the city.

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees a salary that is comparable with education and experience.

    City of Houston2014-04-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at City of Houston

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    turnover ratio is low, low pay

    City of Houston2014-04-02
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Not a great place if you're a progressive person."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Houston

    Pros

    Flexibility, "job security", easy to move up if the right people like you.

    Cons

    Nepotism, Poor Benefits, Low Pay, No "authentic" community engagement. Rude executive team. Ghetto administration.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more qualified people and utilize you're worker that are qualified with years of experience. Stop playing favoritism. This is a work place not a dictatorship.

    City of Houston2013-12-20
Found 12 reviews