City of Irvine, CA Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Irvine, CA Reviews

Updated 7 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
City of Irvine, CA CEO Donald P. Wagner
Donald P. Wagner
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Award-winning City"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Irvine, CA part-time

    Pros

    Highly educated and well-paid staff, ranked safest city for its size, challenging projects.

    Cons

    Some bureaucracy and politics common to all city governments.

    City of Irvine, CA2019-01-14
  2. "City of Irvine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Services Leader in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Irvine, CA part-time

    Pros

    Good training. Some perks. Organized management.

    Cons

    Ridged. Inflexible. Takes a long time to get changes made and needs met.

    City of Irvine, CA2019-07-08
  3. "Relaxed and Positive work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Services Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Irvine, CA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are kind, expectations are reasonable, and the work environment positive. For part time staff, hours are generally flexible and fair

    Cons

    Being in a government job, some processes are unnecessarily difficult. You will need to be flexible and willing to take on duties as assigned

    City of Irvine, CA2019-03-11
  4. "Perfect for part-time, hard to move up to full-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Services Leader III 
    Recommends

    I have been working at City of Irvine, CA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    hourly wage, relaxed and fun environment

    Cons

    promotions are scarce, takes years to get to full-time

    City of Irvine, CA2019-03-02
  5. "CSLII"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City of Irvine, CA part-time

    Pros

    Friendly upper management, fun training sessions

    Cons

    Not challenging, clique-y, lots of physical labor. Extremely low pay for work

    City of Irvine, CA2018-11-25
  6. "Recreational Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at City of Irvine, CA part-time

    Pros

    It was a great experience working with such a well run city and I learned a ton about managing kids and volunteers.

    Cons

    At points the days were very long and occasionally unorganized.

    City of Irvine, CA2018-09-19
  7. "Department Aide/Club President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Irvine, CA part-time

    Pros

    Best job a high school student can have. Will build GREAT event planning skills and communication skills.

    Cons

    There are some required meetings/shifts that may be undesirable.

    Continue reading
    City of Irvine, CA2018-06-05
  8. "Overall Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public Safety Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Irvine, CA full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits for employee and their dependents.

    Cons

    Prefers to hire from the outside, than within. Would like for them to do a better job at promoting current employees over outside candidates.

    Continue reading
    City of Irvine, CA2017-11-26
  9. "Community Services Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Irvine, CA part-time

    Pros

    Respect, quality, growth, future career oportunities

    Cons

    Simple tasks, too much time outdoors

    City of Irvine, CA2017-09-05
  10. "Senior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at City of Irvine, CA full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Excellent benefits

    Cons

    Politicians don't care for the employees

    City of Irvine, CA2017-07-29
Found 39 reviews