City of Laguna Beach, CA Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Laguna Beach, CA Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
City of Laguna Beach, CA   (no image)
1 Rating
  1. "Lifeguard Review Headline for City of Laguna Beach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Ocean Lifeguard I 

    I worked at City of Laguna Beach, CA part-time

    Pros

    -Very friendly employees, coworkers, and supervisors -Teaches many great skills such as discipline, communication with the public, patience, hard work,

    Cons

    -Very physically demanding -Lots of traffic, so difficult to get around quickly in Laguna Beach

    City of Laguna Beach, CA2019-07-27
  2. "Good entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Veterinary Assistant in Laguna Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Laguna Beach, CA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot and felt this was a great opportunity to dip my feet into the world of veterinary medicine.

    Cons

    The owner would often times expect employees to work past their scheduled shift end time on short notice. I feel that this sometimes affects our mental health.

    City of Laguna Beach, CA2019-09-04
  3. "The Best Family & Team out There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Laguna Beach, CA

    Pros

    Everything. This agency is dedicated to making employees feel valued, capable, and a member of the team.

    Cons

    None. No place is going to be perfect, but Laguna is as close as it gets.

    Advice to Management

    Retain the workplace culture and you’ll retain the success.

    City of Laguna Beach, CA2019-07-27
  4. "Community Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Services Coordinator in Laguna Beach, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at City of Laguna Beach, CA part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, team, support, and ability to progress and grow in your role.

    Cons

    Really can't think of any. Work hard and you will be rewarded.

    City of Laguna Beach, CA2019-02-05
  5. "Pool Lifeguard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Lifeguard 

    I worked at City of Laguna Beach, CA for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, nice staff, and friendly patrons. Typically a very chill summer job.

    Cons

    Sometimes it's hard to get hours during peak summer with so many guards working shifts.

    City of Laguna Beach, CA2018-05-25
  6. "Ocean Lifeguard I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Laguna Beach, CA part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and a very fun team to be a part of. I would recommend this job to anyone looking for a summer career.

    Cons

    Sometimes the water gets cold and other times the water gets hot

    Advice to Management

    Allow radios in the tower so we can pass the slow days

    City of Laguna Beach, CA2018-02-07
  7. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Laguna Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at City of Laguna Beach, CA for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly and the employees are always willing to help.

    Cons

    Management is a little slow in making changes. Workload expectations are unrealistic, more work than can be handled.

    City of Laguna Beach, CA2018-02-20
  8. "Such a fun job. I get to work at the Tidepools at the beach. I feel lucky to work there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator in Laguna Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Laguna Beach, CA part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working outside. I get to work at beach all day and meet new people and families! I also love finding an octopus!

    Cons

    None at all. I guess I get sun burned sometimes. And the bathroom is a far walk. No real issues

    Advice to Management

    Love it

    City of Laguna Beach, CA2018-01-18
  9. "Beware..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at City of Laguna Beach, CA full-time

    Pros

    A lot of nice people that work there and if you work THE counter you meet a wide range of people but most are great...

    Cons

    Do not work here, Management SUCKS

    Advice to Management

    As stated before Management SUCKS........

    City of Laguna Beach, CA2018-01-21
  10. "Ocean Lifeguard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Ocean Lifeguard in Laguna Beach, CA

    I worked at City of Laguna Beach, CA for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team environment with management that is there to help you do your job.

    Cons

    No real cons here I loved my time as a lifeguard.

    City of Laguna Beach, CA2017-10-21
Found 14 reviews