City of Longmont, Colorado Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Longmont, Colorado Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at City of Longmont, Colorado full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and friendly working environment.

    Cons

    Rules and regulations that must be followed due to working in the government space.

    City of Longmont, Colorado2016-01-26
  2. "City of Longmont"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Longmont, Colorado full-time

    Pros

    Passionate team of employees who care about helping the community and are committed to being involved with the local public via volunteering or community outreach programs.

    Cons

    Fast growth can cause hardship to keep staff fully trained and qualified for given duties. Various departments tend to have divisions and competition with other departments throughout.

    Advice to Management

    Help create a united overall group mentality that works well together and fosters a spirit of inclusion and team work with all departments.

    City of Longmont, Colorado2018-01-11
  3. "Public Works"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Longmont, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Longmont, Colorado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Never a dull moment in certain positions here. Opportunity to learn a lot and very quickly. Great benefits besides vacation time. Ability to work in field and office and are never micro managed by bosses.

    Cons

    Intense work load, very high expectations, vacation time is minimal, sometimes very stressful environment depending on season. Residents of Longmont can be a nightmare to deal with.

    Advice to Management

    For the most part, everyone in management is pretty solid. It does feel like accomplishments go unnoticed while mistakes are often ridiculed.

    City of Longmont, Colorado2016-06-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at City of Longmont, Colorado

    Pros

    Great management, okay pay, no civil service, ability to be creative, a progressive community. Spent alot of money on training. Great retirement system

    Cons

    Hard to promote, office politics can be a problem, but really not a bad place. Glad I worked there and learned alot.

    City of Longmont, Colorado2015-05-29
  5. "Great Culture, amazing mix of blue and white collar work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Longmont, Colorado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Got to work on really diverse projects and the people are really driven to provide the best service to the citizens of Longmont.

    Cons

    Being a government job, it's easy to get pulled into the culture of just sitting around making money. My supervisor cut the fat when he saw it but of course some gets by. It just felt guilty if I went to work and I sat back.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that workers have projects to work on at all times otherwise they may take a backseat.

    City of Longmont, Colorado2015-05-04
  6. "Work for City has been the best job I've ever had, so I continue to stay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shared Services in Longmont, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Longmont, Colorado full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Constantly learning something new, working to help others in our community, you see how you contribute to make things better. Also there is potential to move up depending upon career path. If you're hard working, and dedicated you will find that you'll be treated fairly and supported. City has great long term benefits and pension when you work full time. Great coworkers and opportunities for professional development.

    Cons

    Perks continues to improve over the years, but may not be equal to what is available to private sector. We're governed by a lot of laws. Some people can find themselves being managed by someone with poor leadership skills. Work life balance can be challenging at times.

    Advice to Management

    Have an open door and learn to listen and trust your employees. Don't become part of the problem, become part of the solution. Don't be the person that resists change.

    City of Longmont, Colorado2015-02-11
  7. "Friendly and casual place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Longmont, CO
    Recommends

    I have been working at City of Longmont, Colorado part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Customer contact, great co workers

    Cons

    Part time work, no more than 20 hrs per week:(

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the loyal employees.

    City of Longmont, Colorado2014-09-02
  8. "Typical government work...so watch your back!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administration 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Longmont, Colorado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A few friendly and fun 'unique' personalities. Hard to find any job with benefits such as retirement, dental, medical, etc. any more but this is one place that provides them.

    Cons

    Chaotic and uniquely specific work environments exist in some departments to the point of running around aimlessly because of the lack of direction, training and leadership. "Don't trust anyone," is what people that have stood the test of time there tell me. High stress jobs exist here and usually for low pay. Just be careful what you apply for and understand the job before going in. They'll cut you in a heart beat... so keep your head down. Make the right contacts and even then you'll still need a lot of help. Realize that this is government work which can also be monotonous at times while remaining stressful. Especially those jobs that deal with the public.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow your people to grow, be heard and add value to your organization. Be aware of your good people who may be held back due to constraints including inadequate resources or training. Be willing to groom an employee to their full potential, only then will you have built a team that you'll want to keep. There is a lot of undermining and tattle telling here that gradually weakens office dynamics and teamwork putting... people in a negative light. Become more intimately aware of what is really happening in the department that you lead.

    Show More
    City of Longmont, Colorado2014-08-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lopsided culture oriented to incestuous elite managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mid Manager in Longmont, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at City of Longmont, Colorado full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    quality of life in community

    Cons

    nonappreciative and closed minded management

    Advice to Management

    complete clean out of executives needed

    City of Longmont, Colorado2013-04-06
Found 9 reviews