City of Lubbock, TX Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Lubbock, TX Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Glen Robertson
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Lubbock, TX full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, great schedule and get to go home every day

    Cons

    The pay for some employees could be improved to be more competitive with private employers.

    City of Lubbock, TX2018-10-22
  2. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Lubbock, TX part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    HR for the city and county is amazing. Good pay

    Cons

    No cons! You guys are all awesome. The

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing your thing

    City of Lubbock, TX2018-08-27
  3. "Great Entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animal Control Officer in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Lubbock, TX full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Employees generally work well together

    Cons

    Management only cares about their next promotion and not the employees who make it possible.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the employees and the employees will take care of you

    City of Lubbock, TX2018-07-02
  4. "End User Tech Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Lubbock, TX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small team, Great pay, Great benefits

    Cons

    No overtime pay, but compensation instead

    City of Lubbock, TX2018-06-07
  5. "I worked as a lifeguard for the city."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Lifeguard in Lubbock, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at City of Lubbock, TX part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The management was decent and respectful while I was employed there, and the pay for a part-time job was satisfactory.

      Cons

      No cons that I can think of. For a first job, I found the work environment to be more than satisfactory.

      City of Lubbock, TX2018-01-13
    • "low hours"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at City of Lubbock, TX

      Pros

      Laid back job with little responsibility

      Cons

      However the job does not offer many hours to work

      City of Lubbock, TX2016-12-01
    • "Good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Lubbock, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at City of Lubbock, TX full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The salary is better than some utility companies in big cities. The pension plan is excellent. Plenty opportunities to grow you knowledge in Electrical engineering. Excellent work/Life balance

      Cons

      Low pace company probably because it is managed by the city

      Advice to Management

      Adopt the private company style management

      City of Lubbock, TX2016-05-24
    • "Awesome"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Library Computer Specialist in Lubbock, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at City of Lubbock, TX

      Pros

      Very relaxed environment with people that are flexible with your work schedule. Additionally, the health and retirement benefits are the best that you can find.

      Cons

      Lack of advancement in the position, sometimes difficult to achieve goals due to funding.

      Advice to Management

      The only advice I would have is to begin things way earlier than you normally would due to the lengthy democratic process.

      City of Lubbock, TX2016-05-14
    • "My Lubbock Career"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lubbock, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at City of Lubbock, TX full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Have mostly been happy here. Pretty good insurance.

      Cons

      Generally, the pay is terrible and the bad employees get the same pay as the good ones. Good ol' boy system is alive and well.

      Advice to Management

      Courtesy goes a long way. It is possible for you to say hello to the minions.

      City of Lubbock, TX2016-05-12
    • "City of Lubbock Temporary Worker"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lubbock, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at City of Lubbock, TX

      Pros

      Good, stable job. The city of Lubbock gives a chance at becoming a full time hire. Encourages to strive for betterment of the organization.

      Cons

      Not very many things to say bad about working for the City of Lubbock. The compensation could be a little better, but not too bad.

      City of Lubbock, TX2016-05-01
    Found 22 reviews