City of Lubbock, TX Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Lubbock, TX Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
City of Lubbock, TX Mayor Glen Robertson (no image)
Glen Robertson
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Lubbock, TX full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, great schedule and get to go home every day

    Cons

    The pay for some employees could be improved to be more competitive with private employers.

    City of Lubbock, TX2018-10-22
  2. "I am not quite sure how to feel about working for the city"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Lubbock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Lubbock, TX part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible in working hours

    Cons

    Management does not know what they are doing

    City of Lubbock, TX2020-02-14
  3. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Lubbock, TX part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    HR for the city and county is amazing. Good pay

    Cons

    No cons! You guys are all awesome. The

    Continue reading
    City of Lubbock, TX2018-08-27
  4. "Great Entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Animal Control Officer in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Lubbock, TX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees generally work well together

    Cons

    Management only cares about their next promotion and not the employees who make it possible.

    Continue reading
    City of Lubbock, TX2018-07-02
  5. "End User Tech Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Lubbock, TX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Small team, Great pay, Great benefits

    Cons

    No overtime pay, but compensation instead

    City of Lubbock, TX2018-06-07
  6. "I worked as a lifeguard for the city."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Lifeguard in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Lubbock, TX part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management was decent and respectful while I was employed there, and the pay for a part-time job was satisfactory.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of. For a first job, I found the work environment to be more than satisfactory.

    City of Lubbock, TX2018-01-13
  7. "low hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Lubbock, TX

    Pros

    Laid back job with little responsibility

    Cons

    However the job does not offer many hours to work

    City of Lubbock, TX2016-12-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Lubbock, TX full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The salary is better than some utility companies in big cities. The pension plan is excellent. Plenty opportunities to grow you knowledge in Electrical engineering. Excellent work/Life balance

    Cons

    Low pace company probably because it is managed by the city

    Continue reading
    City of Lubbock, TX2016-05-24
  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Library Computer Specialist in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Lubbock, TX

    Pros

    Very relaxed environment with people that are flexible with your work schedule. Additionally, the health and retirement benefits are the best that you can find.

    Cons

    Lack of advancement in the position, sometimes difficult to achieve goals due to funding.

    Continue reading
    City of Lubbock, TX2016-05-14
  10. "My Lubbock Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Lubbock, TX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Have mostly been happy here. Pretty good insurance.

    Cons

    Generally, the pay is terrible and the bad employees get the same pay as the good ones. Good ol' boy system is alive and well.

    Continue reading
    City of Lubbock, TX2016-05-12
Found 22 reviews