City of Miami Beach Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Miami Beach Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
City of Miami Beach CEO Jimmy Morales
Jimmy Morales
6 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Miami Beach full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits Good Working Environment Great Location

    Cons

    Traffic Getting to and from the City

    City of Miami Beach2019-02-23
  2. "A Good Part Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor in Miami Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Miami Beach part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good part time, location, city, Miami Beach

    Cons

    No good administration to improve the current system

    City of Miami Beach2019-01-10
  3. "....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at City of Miami Beach full-time

    Pros

    good pay and excellent benefit the drive was not to bad either

    Cons

    their are no cons keep up the good work

    City of Miami Beach2018-12-08
  4. "Excellent Place to Learn and Grow in Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Miami Beach full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits (health care, pension plan, paid time off, employee discounts, corporate wellness program). Job stability. Learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Low pay. Over worked. Not enough backup staff.

    City of Miami Beach2018-08-06
  5. "Excellent Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Miami Beach full-time

    Pros

    The City of Miami Beach is a well run organization that does a great job of looking out for it's employees.

    Cons

    Traffic can be tricky getting here from Kendall or Broward.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, this is a great place to work.

    City of Miami Beach2018-08-01
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Happy Retiree"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Miami Beach full-time

    Pros

    Great salary, benefits, retirement. Wonderful vacation benefits as well.

    Cons

    Employee Morale across the City is shot. Managers control and micromanage all areas. Favorites are played in all departments including HR. If you are well liked by your directors or managers, you are shown respect and compensation. I am glad I retired when I did. There is unprofessional behavior by all departments across the board. No work ethics. If you want to be promoted, you must kiss the right feet. Managers do...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There have been some bad choices made with regard to management choices across the city. Some of the choices have been biased and one sided. I have worked for the city since 1996 and I just retired last year. It was the best decision I made. I hear now from present employees about all the injustices being done against them and other employees. Jimmy is a good city manager but is sometimes easily influenced by his ACM's...

    Show More
    City of Miami Beach2018-04-18
  7. "No Support from Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Miami Beach full-time

    Pros

    Laid-back office environment. Good work-life balance

    Cons

    No room for growth. Stagnation

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to fully understand what the subordinate's job entails.

    City of Miami Beach2018-02-08
  8. "Rec Leader 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rec Leader I in Miami Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Miami Beach part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fun place to work, and good to increase your skills.

    Cons

    no growth yet but hopefully in the future.

    City of Miami Beach2017-10-12
  9. "CMB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Miami Beach full-time

    Pros

    Overall the City is a good place to work depending in what department you are in.

    Cons

    The CM and ACM need to pick better directors that motivate teach and support their employees and that work as hard as their staff.

    City of Miami Beach2017-09-24
  10. "Case Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Miami Beach part-time

    Pros

    Best position I have ever held. Amazing co-workers Self-satisfaction

    Cons

    Can be draining after a few months.

    City of Miami Beach2017-07-28
Found 29 reviews