City of New York Reviews

Updated May 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
71%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
City of New York Mayor Bill de Blasio
Bill de Blasio
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits with a good work life balance(in 22 reviews)

  • "Work on variety of projects to expand skills; good work-life balance; strong learning and development program(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Politics, red tape, technology, equipment(in 11 reviews)

  • "Civil Service test is needed to get jobs(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I need to work to support my family"

    5.0
    Carpenter 

    I worked at City of New York

    Pros

    Good pay is good to work

    Cons

    Is safe and permanent jobs

    Continue reading
    City of New York2020-03-17
  2. "Need to do better with hiring managers with people skills."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Procurement Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of New York full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job stability, Union centric, benefits, sense of service, and work-life balance.

    Cons

    Unprofessional, disincentive, lack of hierarchal mobility, lack of job training, and very cliquish.

    Continue reading
    City of New York2020-05-04
  3. "Working with NYC"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerical Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of New York full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are Good Benefits and u will be part of a Union

    Cons

    Traveling can be a hassle depending on where u are located

    Continue reading
    City of New York2020-04-16
  4. "Bureaucratic"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Advisor in New York, NY

    I worked at City of New York full-time

    Pros

    Serve New Yorkers who really need it

    Cons

    Extremely hard to get anything done and there are many bad managers who don't know how to support their staff and help them grow

    City of New York2020-03-30
  5. "Trade off"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Senior Counsel in New York, NY

    I have been working at City of New York full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are reasonable in general, though most attorney jobs have similar if not better benefits.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy in accomplishing even minor HR related tasks.

    City of New York2020-03-18
  6. "pros and cons"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Policy Analyst 

    I have been working at City of New York full-time

    Pros

    secure employment if you can get it

    Cons

    without appropriate compensation for their work, people hold onto power

    City of New York2020-02-13
  7. "Decent Work Life"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY

    I have been working at City of New York full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is decent

    Cons

    Management is unorganized in some cases

    City of New York2020-01-30
  8. "Civil Servant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of New York full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pension, Job Security, Union

    Cons

    Pay is not the best

    City of New York2020-02-09
  9. "City of New York Offers Great Benefits"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of New York full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Job safety, security and extensive benefits.

    Cons

    Inability to progress job titles not comparable to industry titles.

    City of New York2020-01-22
  10. "Next to Best Experience I've ever had"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Leader in New York, NY

    I have been working at City of New York full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked in a great agency with open minded, dedicated, and compassionate leaders. For the most part, I had no complaints. My colleagues treated me like family, the work was steady and enjoyable, and everyone was committed to the goal of accomplishing the mission. This was a place where toxic behaviors were nipped in the bud before they became a problem, such an inviting, refreshing environment.

    Cons

    My new boss and I were not aligned. In the end that's the only con I can think up because the rest was absolutely great.

    Continue reading
    City of New York2019-12-05
Found 305 reviews