City of Newport Beach California Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Newport Beach California Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
City of Newport Beach California City Manager Dave Kiff
Dave Kiff
3 Ratings
  1. "Amazing staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recreation Leader in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Newport Beach California part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent staff to work with Competent and effective leaders Easy work Get to hangout on the beach Great employer Decent Pay Looks great on resume

    Cons

    For me personally, my commute was 20 minutes there, work for 3-4 hours then drive an hour back.

    Continue reading
    City of Newport Beach California2019-06-15
  2. "Solid Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Department in Mission Viejo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Newport Beach California part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    mid size department where you have the ability to meet and know everyone

    Cons

    mid size department where you have the ability to meet and know everyone, which means, maybe there aren't as many different assignments as a larger department--not necessarily a "con", it just depends on your personal desires.

    Continue reading
    City of Newport Beach California2019-09-14
  3. "Great place to work in a beautiful city"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Support Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Newport Beach California full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Beautiful location, friendly coworkers, ability for promotion and transfers

    Cons

    Not necessarily about working for the city, but the area in general is expensive to live/purchase a home, which could result in a lengthy commute.

    City of Newport Beach California2019-03-12
  4. "Not for experienced laterals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Police Officer in Newport Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at City of Newport Beach California full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great community and great pay!

    Cons

    A lot of nepotism. They treat laterals with experience (5 or more years) poorly, and in some cases create a hostile work environment, sending many laterals back to their former departments. They have a good ole boy or inner circle mentality, and if you are outside of that circle, you can forget getting any specialty assignments or promotions.

    Continue reading
    City of Newport Beach California2018-08-22
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Swim Instructor/Lifeguard in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Newport Beach California part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome community, really flexible, and great job to have as a student.

    Cons

    The end of the summer session for swim lessons is almost always under staffed which makes the long shifts grueling.

    City of Newport Beach California2018-06-11
  6. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recreation 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Newport Beach California for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone who works here is amazing. Great attitudes.

    Cons

    None I really enjoyed my time here

    City of Newport Beach California2017-10-18
  7. "City of Newport Beach Seasonal Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Newport Beach California full-time

    Pros

    Great staff and work environment

    Cons

    government job so there was allot of red tape to move positions

    Continue reading
    City of Newport Beach California2017-02-27
  8. "City Lifeguard/Swim Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lifeguard 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at City of Newport Beach California

    Pros

    Competitive pay for high school students, fun & accepting work environment, great management. 90% of clients that we worked with were very courteous

    Cons

    Long training process (3 full weekends, if I remember correctly). Minimal time-off for vacation (expected, since seasonal job only)

    City of Newport Beach California2016-12-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Its Newport"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Huntington Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at City of Newport Beach California for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great pay, nice people and good benefits

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't address issues when they arise No loyalty to employees

    Continue reading
    City of Newport Beach California2016-11-30
  10. "Shuffle Bad Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at City of Newport Beach California full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful City, Lots of freedom, great pay

    Cons

    high stress, shuffle bad employees rather than address real problems

    Continue reading
    City of Newport Beach California2016-10-07
Found 28 reviews