City of Pearland - Texas Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Pearland - Texas Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
City of Pearland - Texas CEO Clay Pearson
Clay Pearson
0 Ratings
  1. "Busy public service agency to help people, build community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Pearland - Texas full-time

    Pros

    Challenging, different every day, great work colleagues, important mission, and exciting area.

    Cons

    Lots of shifting demands and expectations, people we work with don't always understand and appreciate what they are receiving.

    City of Pearland - Texas2018-02-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunities to make a difference in our community!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Pearland - Texas full-time

    Pros

    Nice to work in an environment where you can see your work makes a difference. Many hardworking and dedicated staff.

    Cons

    Very fast paced environment with many changing expectations. Can wear out some people....not your typical government environment....demands are high and staff numbers in many departments are too lean.

    Advice to Management

    Show your people you appreciate them and watch out for burn out.

    City of Pearland - Texas2018-02-19
  3. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Pearland - Texas full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to make a meaningful difference in a growing city.

    Cons

    The pace is fast and can sometimes be overwhelming if you're not used to it.

    City of Pearland - Texas2018-01-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Pearland, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Pearland - Texas full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Overall, I have really enjoyed my time at the City of Pearland. I have a great work/life balance, I enjoy a good amount of vacation time and have some coworkers that I really enjoy working with.

    Cons

    Trust employees who do good work and let them know that you appreciate their efforts and you will not lose them.

    Advice to Management

    The new management philosophy that anyone can do any job is not a good one. People should be valued for the wealth of knowledge that they have in their given field and it doesn't make sense to put inexperienced people over entire departments for which they have no background or understanding. This leads to people being over departments and work product that they don't truly understand or have the expertise to handle.

    City of Pearland - Texas2018-01-15
  5. "Work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Pearland - Texas part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pays well, good benefits, facility well kept

    Cons

    It was hard to manage schedule

    City of Pearland - Texas2017-10-05
  6. "Kiosk Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at City of Pearland - Texas part-time

      Pros

      There is understanding and flexibility around your schedule.

      Cons

      The kids that come to the facility often.

      City of Pearland - Texas2017-10-13
    • "It's a government job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lifeguard in Pearland, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at City of Pearland - Texas part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      It's a safe government job.

      Cons

      It's a government job with bureaucracy everywhere.

      City of Pearland - Texas2017-04-18
    • "nothing special"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at City of Pearland - Texas

        Pros

        not the worst place ever

        Cons

        municipality and the red tape that follows

        City of Pearland - Texas2017-01-04
      • "Municipal Court"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Court Administrator in Pearland, TX
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at City of Pearland - Texas full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        Everyday is different, fast paced, great environment, great people

        Cons

        Always busy high turnover citizens are not always plesant

        Advice to Management

        Recognize our department more and what we do

        City of Pearland - Texas2016-10-21
      • "Growing and getting better and better in public service"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at City of Pearland - Texas full-time

        Pros

        Great people, important work to serve the community, good training and development, growth potential to move up.

        Cons

        Many demands and working to catch up with growth

        City of Pearland - Texas2016-09-28
      Found 15 reviews