City of Peoria, IL Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Peoria, IL Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
33%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
City of Peoria, IL Major Jim Ardis
Jim Ardis
1 Rating
  1. "Love my Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Peoria, IL full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It's a small department, but everyone works hard and is compatible with one another. We get the job done. Our manager expects the best out of us and is willing to work with us and our specific situations.

    Cons

    It's hard to watch the lack of leadership in other departments and the revolving door of employees. Difficult to see employees in other Departments receive preference and raises even when they had been disciplined.

    Continue reading
    City of Peoria, IL2019-05-30
  2. "Challenging work in an inefficient working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Peoria, IL full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are solid. Vested in pension after 10 years.

    Cons

    Working at the City of Peoria is like going back in time to your 1995 job. Technology and processes are antiquated.

    Continue reading
    City of Peoria, IL2019-09-12
  3. "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at City of Peoria, IL full-time

    Pros

    Great union to protect employees from mismanagement

    Cons

    Poor management by city leaders.

    City of Peoria, IL2018-07-16
  4. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at City of Peoria, IL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People really like to work here. You can keep your job as long as you're not an idiot.

    Cons

    Union is too rigid sometimes and Public Works seems to have some issues but other departments get along with each other. City Managers office is run very well

    Continue reading
    City of Peoria, IL2014-12-14
  5. "Not worth the stress!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at City of Peoria, IL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, most employees decent. Some protection through Unions, but not all equally strong or respected.

    Cons

    Management lacks top-notch skills. High stress to the point of physical ailments! Favoritism rampant despite Unions in place. Other than management, every employee has a target - oops! price tag - on their head, so doesn't matter if you're a model employee, how much institutional knowledge you have or what solid networking relationships you've established. If budget ax is swinging, you'll be first to go if not on the Favorites list. City loads up on lesser-paid employees who have to recreate the wheel which continues to give government red tape a bad rap. And cross-training? Forget about it...

    Continue reading
    City of Peoria, IL2014-12-16
  6. "Lack of leadership, direction, goals and a bureaucratic mess."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at City of Peoria, IL

    Pros

    good benefits if you can put up with it

    Cons

    Lack of leadership, direction, goals and a bureaucratic mess.

    Continue reading
    City of Peoria, IL2011-10-01
  7. "Okay employer if you like politics and have a high tolerance for stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at City of Peoria, IL

    Pros

    Service to the public can be very rewarding. In the past, municipal jobs were secure. Many great and highly skilled/experienced co-workers.

    Cons

    The "work" itself is great, but politics and cutbacks have led to an unhealthy and stressful work environment.

    City of Peoria, IL2011-01-27
Viewing 1 - 7 of 7 Reviews

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.