City of Philadelphia Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Philadelphia Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
75%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
City of Philadelphia CEO Jim Kenney
Jim Kenney
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people, a lot of meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I worked at City of Philadelphia part-time

    Pros

    Was given a lot of responsibilities

    Cons

    A lot of paperwork and other busy work

    City of Philadelphia2019-09-06
  2. "Stability and support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Services Social Worker in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Philadelphia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is amazingly the first time I had a company request a review, and that says a lot! I'm under one of the unionized civil service branches, which means I have a lot of support and stability. I can see growth within my department. There is flexibility, a stable income, and fantastic benefits.

    Cons

    Despite the growth, moving up the promotional ladder is tedious. You're definitely playing the long game, needing to go back through the civil service process and waiting for an eligibility list. The pay is lower than you can get elsewhere. I think the benefits outweigh the cons.

    City of Philadelphia2019-10-11
  3. "New Job, so far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Philadelphia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Environment that encourages growth, but maintains good work/life balance. In software engineering it is very easy to fall behind the times but the city government seems to be very supportive of training us on the latest and greatest.

    Cons

    Within six months of accepting the job you are required to move to the city. I have lived just outside city limits, so I am being forced to move to keep my job.

    City of Philadelphia2019-10-10
  4. "Govt position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Philadelphia full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Medical benefits great as well time off accrual.

    Cons

    Low pay compared to the industry standards

    City of Philadelphia2019-09-13
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Analyst 

    I have been working at City of Philadelphia part-time

    Pros

    flexible work schedule allows you to work at times that are best for you

    Cons

    I have not experienced any so far but have only been here 2 years

    City of Philadelphia2019-09-12
  6. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Secretary in Phila, PA

    I have been working at City of Philadelphia full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, great amount of time off

    Cons

    Can't move outside of Philadelphia

    City of Philadelphia2019-09-13
  7. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Coordinator in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Philadelphia full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits, and is in the City!

    Cons

    HR communication isn't the best

    City of Philadelphia2019-08-21
  8. "No room for upward movement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Philadelphia full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good pension and time off

    Cons

    can't get ahead, too political

    City of Philadelphia2019-09-25
  9. "Great place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Philadelphia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    For those who do not have education working for the city would be a great place to start and even make a career.

    Cons

    If you have education you will not be paid anything close to your worth; many non professionals

    Advice to Management

    Do not allow just anyone to become a supervisor when they have zero people skills or experience

    City of Philadelphia2019-08-21
  10. "Will hang you out to dry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Inspector in Philadelphia, PA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Philadelphia full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Union representation for certain problems

    Cons

    Worker’s Comp injuries are not treated properly and often misdiagnosed. Coupled with prolonging treatment, all with the hopes that you give up and just goes back to work

    City of Philadelphia2019-08-15
Found 246 reviews