City of Sacramento Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Sacramento Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
John Shirey
20 Ratings
  1. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at City of Sacramento full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and amazing people.

    Cons

    No cons working for the City.

    City of Sacramento2018-05-23
  2. "Rec Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Sacramento part-time

    Pros

    Low Stress, easy job environment

    Cons

    There is limited hours, but work environment makes up for it

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    City of Sacramento2018-02-27
  3. "Great Place and friendly people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very helpful. There is a joking atmosphere but when work needs to be done everyone is focused.

    Cons

    Sometimes it gets very quiet and repetitive.

    City of Sacramento2017-12-04
  4. "Facilities Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Carpenter in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn and great bunch of guys to work with.

    Cons

    Facilities could use more hands on job specific training. There are a lot of opportunities to learn business and management skills but trade specific is lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Incorporate cross training between disciplines to allow a better understanding for each craft so they can better diagnose and service each job.

    City of Sacramento2017-08-16
  5. "District Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento full-time

    Pros

    Love working for the City of Sacramento. The City takes care of you - great benefits. A lot of camaraderie. Challenging. No day is the same. Affords an opportunity to grow your network.

    Cons

    Some positions do not have ability to move up. If you would like to make a career out of a job at the City, I would suggest looking at something with possibilities for advancement. This job also requires working a lot of nights and weekends.

    City of Sacramento2017-06-15
  6. "Student Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    Great Pay, flexible schedule. a lot to learn here from co workers

    Cons

    Not always a lot to do. Summers can be boring.

    City of Sacramento2016-09-22
  7. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    Good people, great benefits and good pay

    Cons

    Lack of direction and leadership

    City of Sacramento2016-08-17
  8. "Public Policy Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    Working for the City of Sacramento was great. The environment, people, and work ethic of everyone was amazing. Management was helpful and friendly, which made my time working for city council very memorable.

    Cons

    After work events like neighborhood meetings and weekend volunteer shifts made an average 8 hours day a 10-12 hours day.

    City of Sacramento2016-05-20
  9. "Account Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Technician in Vancouver, WA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Sacramento full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work! I was very happy working there.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons. Everything was good about my tenure.

    City of Sacramento2015-11-13
  10. "Great place and great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Staff Assistant in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    There was always something new to learn and the employee there were great to work with. Projects were not on a strict schedule, but you should challenge yourself to finish it sooner.

    Cons

    Not that many job available

    City of Sacramento2015-10-05
Found 42 reviews