City of Sacramento Reviews | Glassdoor

City of Sacramento Reviews

Updated Apr 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
John Shirey
20 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work, but management wasnt the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Sacramento full-time

    Pros

    Steady job, flexibility, Great coworkers, The position was entry level and paid decent.

    Cons

    Politics and incompetent managers throughout. Not all though.

    City of Sacramento2017-07-18
  2. "District Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento full-time

    Pros

    Love working for the City of Sacramento. The City takes care of you - great benefits. A lot of camaraderie. Challenging. No day is the same. Affords an opportunity to grow your network.

    Cons

    Some positions do not have ability to move up. If you would like to make a career out of a job at the City, I would suggest looking at something with possibilities for advancement. This job also requires working a lot of nights and weekends.

    City of Sacramento2017-06-15
  3. "Recreational aide- Camp counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recreational Aide in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at City of Sacramento full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent working with the kids. A lot of trips, activities and amenities for the children. It was a pleasant experience

    Cons

    When management changed my experience was different however, I enjoyed working under the City of Sacramento. Excellent perks for staff

    City of Sacramento2017-06-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Program Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    The people within the city are overall good to work with.

    Cons

    The entire city is too political , hypocritical and the management style is to lead thru fear. It is not a positive environment. The crazy's are running the asylum....Never received a raise in 8 years and had mandatory furloughs for the first 4 years.

    City of Sacramento2017-01-04
  5. "Student Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    Great Pay, flexible schedule. a lot to learn here from co workers

    Cons

    Not always a lot to do. Summers can be boring.

    City of Sacramento2016-09-22
  6. "No Room to Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Costumer Service Representative 

    I worked at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    Great for college students looking for work

    Cons

    They play favorites, barely any hours to work and no room to become Full time

    City of Sacramento2016-09-15
  7. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    Good people, great benefits and good pay

    Cons

    Lack of direction and leadership

    City of Sacramento2016-08-17
  8. "Utility Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at City of Sacramento part-time

    Pros

    Great co workers and well supplied to complete all projects.

    Cons

    Temp/non career positions not considered for career positions.

    Advice to Management

    Please add a points system that give temp/career workers an advantage in the application process.

    City of Sacramento2016-07-15
  9. "Public Policy Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sacramento, CA

    I worked at City of Sacramento

    Pros

    Working for the City of Sacramento was great. The environment, people, and work ethic of everyone was amazing. Management was helpful and friendly, which made my time working for city council very memorable.

    Cons

    After work events like neighborhood meetings and weekend volunteer shifts made an average 8 hours day a 10-12 hours day.

    City of Sacramento2016-05-20
  10. "Local Government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EH&S Specialist in Citrus Heights, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at City of Sacramento for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The City continues to grow and working for the City of Sacramento is pretty good. They offer great benefits, encourage personal growth through continuing education, and a majority of the staff are really friendly and family oriented.

    Cons

    Some of the downsides are mostly the workload. It seems that there is never enough staff to create good/exceptional customer service internally. Other than that, the only other con right now is the huge homeless issue that concerns everyone who works downtown.

    City of Sacramento2016-05-10
Found 42 reviews